Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A co-worker asked for this recipe right away! However, I did make a few modifications. I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 and substituted half of the oil with applesauce. Next time I make it, I'm going to up the applesauce to 3/4 C to make it a little more moist. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is one awesome recipe!! The pumpkin bread was delicious, very moist. I took a loaf to work and everyone raved about it. I did add 1 t. vanilla as suggested by one of the reviews. I also tried substituting 2 cups bananas for the pumpkin and 1 c butter for the vegetable oil and it was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This bread was delicious!! The only thing I did different was add chocolate chips! And truly it would've been great with out them too! Thank u for sharing this recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and found it to be great flavour but too greasy (left a slice on the kitchen counter overnight and it was still moist the next day) and a little too sweet. I will definitely make again but halve the oil and use 2 cups sugar instead, as many others have suggested. I did also add a dash of vanilla extract to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Amazing! I've been making this recipe for a few years. It is incredible. I only get two loaves, not three, because my bread pans are a bit larger than recommended in the recipe. I reduce the sugar to 2 cups: 1 c. brown and 1 c. white sugar. It's still exceptionally delicious this way, but with as much sugar as I ingest, I try to reduce it when possible. I also use heaping measurements of the spices because we like it spicey. We love snacking on this pumpkin bread each fall and winter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
one word, GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this last night, and what a great recipe! I used fresh pumpkin puree (from a small sugar pumpkin yielding just about 2 cups of puree). Followed the recipe pretty closely other than that substitution of fresh for canned. The recipe perfectly filled three 8 1/2" x 3" foil loaf pans. It did take about 15 minutes more to bake to done, but I'm guessing that might be because fresh pumpkin might contain more water than canned. (Though I did let the cooked pumpkin drain in a collander lined with coffee filters, and got a LOT of water out that way). I have two loaves up in the freezer, and they'll be coming down when I have a housefull of company at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Yummy! I added a bag of white chocolate chips to batter and they melted making scrumptious little sweet "pits" in the bread after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This turned out delicious! I used Trader Joe's Pumpkin Pie Spice in lieu of all of the other spices, and added a little extra ? I have been asked for the recipe by 3 people already! It's easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This turned out great even in high altitude! I followed many reviewers and only used 1/2 cup of oil and 2 cups of sugar but added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added raisins. Next time I will try it with chocolate chips! This made 12 muffins and one loaf. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States