Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe twice it is absolutely delicious. My family loves it and I will be making it for a Christmas party. I coated the pans with a cinnamon sugar coating instead of flour, gave it a nice flavorful crunch on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tuppers Plains, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
If I could give this six stars, I would! So moist and flavorful, it's almost like pumpkin gingerbread. One warning though, this recipe makes a lot of batter! I made one 9x5 loaf and 12 good sized muffins from it. Not that I'm complaining! If you're looking for a moist, delicious, well-spiced pumpkin bread, you've found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very Good. Moist and flavorful. I have used Fresh and Canned Pumpkin both delicious. I does last well so it is great as gift. I have not tried using batter as muffins yet like one reviewer did but going to try that next. Definitely in the Christmas gift baskets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
For my family it's absolutely perfect. It's the only recipe we make again and again. We usually add chocolate chunks and also white chocolate chips if we have them on hand. They melt and add a wonderful flavor. I love the fact that you can actually make 2 loaves because it goes quick!! My kids want it for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good flavor and excellent texture! I found it overly sweet with 3 cups of sugar (more like a dessert cake), but just perfect with 2 1/4. The perfect recipe--very easy and makes enough to save some to enjoy and have plenty to give away. BTW, works out perfectly using whole wheat pastry flour, too--made it that way once. I also felt like it needed vanilla and/or a dash of maple flavoring. Just follow the basic recipe then spice as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was good but only made 2 loaves, not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have had this recipe saved for YEARS and finally made it this fall. It is just as amazing as everyone else (over 6100 right now) has claimed. I like to make this in a big 13x9 pan and just cut into squares for the family. I have loaves of it in the freezer now for giving. Once I made it, my husband was hooked and I have kept making it all season long. I'm sure I'll be making it in the middle of summer too, it's that good. I don't dare change a thing, this recipe is FLAWLESS. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe many times this fall and just finished making it for the second time today. The bread freezes well, and to replace the oil I use plain Greek yogurt and add walnuts, raisins and mini chocolate chips, depending on what I have available. Overall this a great recipe--thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe, my family loves it. I have made it with fresh pumpkin, fresh cooked & mashed sweet potatoes, and fresh cooked & mashed butternut squash. Puree in the blender. Just be mindful of water content when using fresh. You may need to strain it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro Corbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I've been making this recipe for over a year now. My 5 year old son is a picky eater and this is his favorite thing for me to bake for him. Excellent recipe, great balance of spices, I wouldn't change a thing. One tip: my oven always needs more time to bake, so i lower the temp by 15 degrees for the last 10 minutes and any additional time. Prevents the bread from over browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States