Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Perfect!!!! make as is except with 1 c of brown sugar..butter pan and dust with cinnamon sugar..takes 20 minutes extra to fully cook..best taste the following day after wrapped in plastic wrap in the refrigerator for a day..flavors meld..add walnuts or pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I just made these and it has a really oily after taste! I think next time I will use a 1/4 cup of oil, 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Was absolutely delicious. It was moist and just the right balance of spices. Loved it and so did my grandkids. That's a big plus for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I've reviewed this before, but I had to add that this time I added golden raisins in one batch, craisins in another, and of course I always double the cinnamon. This continues to be a staple here...I freeze loaves to have with afternoon tea, night-time coffee, and the muffins are THE best, according to our grandson! I can't recommend this recipe highly enough! I just dump everything into my Kitchenaid and it does all the work...makes me look,good every time! Freezes beautifully whether muffins or loaves...stays moist and SO scrumptious! I get about 36 muffins and a loaf from one recipe. You must try it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I baked in a bundt pan for 1 hr 15 minutes. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 c walnuts. I really liked the spice blend and enjoyed this with my coffee. My 7 yr old son liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Fantastic! Banana bread was my favorite, but not after this. This has become a family staple. My husband is a pilot and I usually make him a small loaf to take on his trips. Only change we made was to use our own, homemade pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I bake this bread once a month and it always comes out moist and delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was disgusting-too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akiko
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! It was delicious! You could see green specks in my bread coz i baked and mashed fresh pumpkin, we don't have pumpkin puree where i am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akiko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I did modify it slightly though. I took out a 1/2 cup of sugar and add-in about 1 1/2 to 2 TBS of honey, I used local, and the same of dark molasses, then about 5 1/2 TBS of dark brown sugar. I also only used about 3/4 cup of oil. I use butternut squash in any pumpkin recipe instead. I put 16 oz of puree and I used 1/3 cup of the cooking water instead of regular water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States