Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Everyone I know always wants this bread...it is the best ever...even better with chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The flavor of this bread really wasn't any better than others I've made. After 50 minutes in the oven it was still liquid in the middle. I had to bake it for an extra 20 minutes for the middle to be done enough to eat which made the bottom and sides burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Delicious pumpkin bread! I too, reduced the sugar and used a half cup of apple sauce. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this several times with a few modifications... I substitute the sugar with coconut sugar (coconut sugar adds a caramel like flavor when used in baking and has a nice, low glycemic index value) and the oil with coconut oil (surprisingly, there is not even a hint of the coconut after baking) as well as doubling all the spices except cloves. I also use fresh pumpkin which, to me at least, makes for a better flavor than canned. The loaves are very moist and oh, so very delicious. As other reviewers have mentioned it is great to freeze and perfect for holiday gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Simple & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was AMAZING!! It was moist, super tasty, and a huge hit with kids. I made one regular and put chocolate chips in the other. I would NOT change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! Best Pumpkin bread! I substituted butter for oil, unbleached all purpose flour for flour, and sugar in the raw for sugar. With the changes I bake them for about 60 Min. I usually make two loaves and a 6-8 muffins. *Make a butter based cream cheese frosting for the muffins is also really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Excellent! Used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce, reduced sugar to 2 c., added 1/2 c. chocolate chips for each loaf. Reduced heat a bit and baked for 65 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was great! Moist and flavorful. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips and uped the pumpkin a little. Maks to loafs of 9x5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Always turns out great. Lately I've been using some applesauce for half the oil and adding raisins, cranberries, chocolate chips, or walnuts. This makes 2 big loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 5,877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States