Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This turned out great even in high altitude! I followed many reviewers and only used 1/2 cup of oil and 2 cups of sugar but added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added raisins. Next time I will try it with chocolate chips! This made 12 muffins and one loaf. SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe and so did my family. It was perfect for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Very good. Made it the first time with oil, but realized too late my oil was rancid. Had to make it again, but was out of oil now, so I improvised with a stick of butter and 4oz of unsweetened applesauce. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I liked it and probably won't bother to try any other recipes! It's nice and moist and very flavorful with all the spices. Two thumbs up! Made two regular sized loaves which had to bake for about 80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was a great recipe. This is a recipe I recommend and will keep for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Amazing! Every time we make it our family of four ends up eating at least a loaf that day! Sometimes we substitute 1/2 cup of oil for applesauce, so we can tell ourselves it's healthier. Thanks for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
DELICIOUS! I followed every step, and added every ingredient. I did not get 3 loaves out of it though, only 2. I added walnuts to one of them and it was AMAZING! I will always use this recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe has the potential for 5 stars, but I did not experience the bursts of flavors so many reviews mentioned. I will not rate a recipe based on my changes. With that said, I do agree with several members, who doubled the spices and added 1 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. As written, however, I give it 3 stars. It is moist with a lovely texture. The flavor is okay, but simply underpowered. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This turned out fantastic! I found a can of pumpkin in the cupboard and searched for a recipe, and found this one. It seemed like too much sugar to me, though, and after reading a lot of the reviews I made a few changes: I used one cup white sugar and one cup dark brown sugar; swapped a half cup melted butter for a half cup of the oil; and added chopped walnuts. I froze the second loaf but we went through the first in eighteen hours! Snack after dinner and breakfast French Toast (thank you hubbie!). Versatile and delicious. Will be thawing the second loaf next weekend. THANK YOU, LAURIE, WHOEVER YOU ARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This bread is delicious! I made two batches, the first batch was quite sweet so I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups on the second batch. I also cut the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup applesauce as some reviews suggested and added a cup of chopped walnuts. I thought it was perfect and all six loaves disappeared very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Good receipe, bake time is too much for 3 loaves as indicated. I hade to cut bake time and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States