Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is delicious, super moist and spicy.The first time I made it I stuck to the recipe which was already fab but have since experimented and have settled on double the amount of ginger plus 1/4 tsp each of cardamon, 5 spice and all spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this twice. My husband said it is the best he ever tasted and all the guys at his work ask if I have made any more. I only made a coupe changes and it is just personal preference. Reduced sugar to about 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. Added 1 1/2 cups pecan, 2 cups raisins, 2 teaspoons baking powder, doubled ginger,double cinnamon, added 1 tbl cloves. Baked in 9x13 cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Delish!! And so easy! The extra loaves freeze great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My go-to pumpkin bread recipe for eating and for gifting! I use 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I also am VERY generous when measuring the spices b/c we like it super flavorful. Make this bread. You won't be disappointed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
YUM! This pumpkin bread is tasty and very moist. I completely agree that it actually tastes better the next day. Makes great muffins too. I noticed, though, that it doesn't seem to have a strong pumpkin taste. This didn't bother me, but someone looking for something really "pumpkiny" tasting may not think this has enough pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this today and it was so easy and delicious! I used brown sugar (not packed) as I didn't have white sugar and used whole wheat flour. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Super simple and tasty. I made three loaves and sprinkled a sugar cinnamon mix on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I don't really like nutmeg, so I just used extra cinnamon and a pinch of cloves for the spices. I also reduced the sugar my about a third, and it was still nice and sweet, with a cinnamon-y and pumpkin-y flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I love pumpkin stuff and this is really good. I make muffins out of it instead of bread and it makes a lot. The only modification I made was to use olive oil, add 1 tsp vanilla and use half brown and half white sugar but it's great as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years. Two things I suggest: 1) Sift the flour, to avoid clumps. This allows you to be able to stir the batter less. Over-mixed batter will create a tougher bread. So sift the flour and stir just till the batter is combined. 2) Use mini-loaf pans. Less time in the oven means better crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 5,947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States