Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not deviate from the original recipe even though I was tempted!!! Mine turned out tasty, but just a little dry. Wasn't as moist as I had hoped for. So next time...and there will be a next time...I am going to take some of the other reviewers advice and see what happens. I really like this recipe and have high hopes it will meet my expectations the next time around. Thanks Laurie Bennett for this recipe and hopefully I will get it right!!! I will change my rating if it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe because of the reviews, but it completely fell short. The middle of the bread never fully cooked despite extra time in the oven and the bottom was a bit burned too. Not sure what happened, but wouldn't use this recipe again when there are others that are easier and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Personally I loved this spicy and dense bread. My husband prefers the other recipe I usually make - but this one has better ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Awesome! I've made this three times now and everyone loves it. It was gobbled up fast when I made it to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a few alterations: I used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the 1 cup of vegetable oil and I used 2 1/2 cups of sucanat instead of 3 cups of sugar. The loaves were moist and sweet, tasted like pumpkin pie only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Fulgoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious! Some alterations: I added chocolate chips and raisins, as well as substituting a banana for some of the vegetable oil. I also added some oatmeal, flax seed, and wheat germ, and used mostly wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made this a few times and my family and I LOVE it. It is a very dense bread, and my loaf pans are bigger so it takes almost 90 minutes to bake at 325. I turn the oven down so the outside doesn't get over-done. I always add raisins to one batch for my husband, and chocolate chips to the other batch for everyone. Last night I accidentally opened a 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of the 15 oz, so I made 2 loaves w/raisins, 28 muffins and 1 small 3x5 loaf w/chocolate chips. I used 4 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. It's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe! To me it tasted a bit like pumpkin pie. A few changes that I did to the recipe was using parchment paper in the loaf pans instead of greasing and flouring, and 2 cups fresh pumpkin purée instead of canned. Such a good recipe. I will definitely be making more of this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Dyok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My favorite pumpkin bread. i have been making it for years. The original recipe is great however I always try to make it a little healthier with 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sause and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best thing I have ever baked! I have been making this recipe for years, but I only registered on the site today so I thought I'd leave a comment. This pumpkin bread comes out perfect every time I make it and it impressed everyone who has ever tried it. I guess we can say this has become one of my signature dishes, so I just want to say a huge THANK YOU! (The only thing I've ever changed in this recipe is the amount of sugar - I only add 2 and 1/4, maximum 2,5 cups, and I use brown sugar instead of white.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pummi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States