Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made just a few changes as I was primarily baking this for my 9 month old daughter. I did not want to use any oil. I used almost 3 (4oz) jars of baby applesauce. And I used just 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup white, 1 cup brown. (Probably use even less next time as it was still very sweet) It came out moist and delicious. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice in place of all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this recipe just the way it said. I love this bread its the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Everyone I know always wants this bread...it is the best ever...even better with chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The flavor of this bread really wasn't any better than others I've made. After 50 minutes in the oven it was still liquid in the middle. I had to bake it for an extra 20 minutes for the middle to be done enough to eat which made the bottom and sides burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Delicious pumpkin bread! I too, reduced the sugar and used a half cup of apple sauce. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this several times with a few modifications... I substitute the sugar with coconut sugar (coconut sugar adds a caramel like flavor when used in baking and has a nice, low glycemic index value) and the oil with coconut oil (surprisingly, there is not even a hint of the coconut after baking) as well as doubling all the spices except cloves. I also use fresh pumpkin which, to me at least, makes for a better flavor than canned. The loaves are very moist and oh, so very delicious. As other reviewers have mentioned it is great to freeze and perfect for holiday gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Simple & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was AMAZING!! It was moist, super tasty, and a huge hit with kids. I made one regular and put chocolate chips in the other. I would NOT change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! Best Pumpkin bread! I substituted butter for oil, unbleached all purpose flour for flour, and sugar in the raw for sugar. With the changes I bake them for about 60 Min. I usually make two loaves and a 6-8 muffins. *Make a butter based cream cheese frosting for the muffins is also really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 5,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States