Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So, I have to give it 4 stars only because I modified it a bit, so I don't know how it would be exactly as written. The bread turned out delicious, some of the best pumpkin bread I've had!!!! Here's what I changed: decreased oil to about 2/3 cup, added 3-4 tbsp milk, reduced white sugar to 1.5 cups, added about 1 cup brown sugar, and added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. It did take longer to bake, and I'm not sure why. I think it was a good hour and ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The BEST pumpkin bread I have had in years..and I have had a lot of pumpkin bread. Glad I lost my old recipe so I was forced to try a new one. I did add a cup of plump raisin ( soaked in water..Next time may try some rum to experiment.) and a cup of chopped walnuts. Very moist and just the right amount of spices. Great for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Moist, great flavor and easy, can't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wow. Made this as the recipe stated. Just topped with a glaze whole cooling oh 1 cup confectioners sugar, 5tsp milk and 2 tbs butter. It also took me a little longer to bake- 1 hr and 10 min. And it fit (2) 9x4 pans perfectly. It's delicious and addicting. Thank goodness it makes two loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I prefer this over pumpkin pie. My boyfriend loves it and I'm about to make some for my fellow co-workers. Of course I've added my own twist to it. For the most part I follow the ingredients. I substituted the vegetable oil for 3/4 cup of coconut oil, it keeps everything so moist even days after. I add 2 cups of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar, 1tblsp of cinnamon, 1.5 tsp of nutmeg and use baking powder instead of baking soda. I usually make 12 muffins and 1 bigger bread loaf. Muffins cook for 25 to 30 minutes and the loaf for 40 to 45 minutes. These are so good I'm thinking about adding them to my breakfast routine every other week. Kudos to the mad genius who thought of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe twice it is absolutely delicious. My family loves it and I will be making it for a Christmas party. I coated the pans with a cinnamon sugar coating instead of flour, gave it a nice flavorful crunch on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tuppers Plains, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
If I could give this six stars, I would! So moist and flavorful, it's almost like pumpkin gingerbread. One warning though, this recipe makes a lot of batter! I made one 9x5 loaf and 12 good sized muffins from it. Not that I'm complaining! If you're looking for a moist, delicious, well-spiced pumpkin bread, you've found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very Good. Moist and flavorful. I have used Fresh and Canned Pumpkin both delicious. I does last well so it is great as gift. I have not tried using batter as muffins yet like one reviewer did but going to try that next. Definitely in the Christmas gift baskets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
For my family it's absolutely perfect. It's the only recipe we make again and again. We usually add chocolate chunks and also white chocolate chips if we have them on hand. They melt and add a wonderful flavor. I love the fact that you can actually make 2 loaves because it goes quick!! My kids want it for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good flavor and excellent texture! I found it overly sweet with 3 cups of sugar (more like a dessert cake), but just perfect with 2 1/4. The perfect recipe--very easy and makes enough to save some to enjoy and have plenty to give away. BTW, works out perfectly using whole wheat pastry flour, too--made it that way once. I also felt like it needed vanilla and/or a dash of maple flavoring. Just follow the basic recipe then spice as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States