Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This is a really great recipe! A couple of items...first, the original recipe makes A LOT! I am glad I had 3 cups of flour, but since we are a family of four, I might just cut the recipe in 1/2 next time. I wanted to cut the oil in 1/2...and didn't have apples or applesauce...so I used apple and plum baby puree and it worked just great! Just a couple of useful notes--I baked muffins 3/4 full and they took 23mins to cook. the muffins kinda stuck to the muffin cups so it may be best (if using the lower fat recipe) to just spray the muffin tins well with a non-stick spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
old school perfect yum. the only recipe i'll ever use... just like moms and nana's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe just as it is. I use all fresh spices and add chocolate chips sometimes, and it always comes out perfect! Just a thought... I wish there was one section for rating and reviewing recipes and another for suggestions. It's very difficult to get accurate opinions on these recipes when they are rated on something entirely different. "This was 5 stars, of course after I changed and substituted 85% of the ingredients on the list.". Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my go to recipe!! Love it and the kids always beg me to make it. I double the recipe and make about 6 loaves...great gift during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great recipe with NO changes made. Rich, moist, hearty flavor. My family loved it! Made into 24 muffins. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very moist and delicious! My favorite pumpkin bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoonerFan1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Oh! My!! Goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is like my favorite pumpkin treat. I'm in LOVE! I do add extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Howell Menefee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My first time making any kind of bread that didn't come out of a box. The pumpkin bread is absolutely delicious! If I can do it anyone can - it's so easy. Thanks so much for sharing - happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisduo88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Have been making this bread since the early 1970's when a friend made it. She added 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1 cup chopped dates, but I always use the entire package of chopped dates, maybe 1 1/2 cups. Over the years have made it healthier by subbing 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour with 2 c all purpose white flour, 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup Splenda, and 1 cup Splenda sugar blend(which is 1/2 sugar & 1/2 Splenda). It's always moist and always a big hit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States