Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very moist and delicious! My favorite pumpkin bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoonerFan1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Oh! My!! Goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is like my favorite pumpkin treat. I'm in LOVE! I do add extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My first time making any kind of bread that didn't come out of a box. The pumpkin bread is absolutely delicious! If I can do it anyone can - it's so easy. Thanks so much for sharing - happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisduo88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Have been making this bread since the early 1970's when a friend made it. She added 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1 cup chopped dates, but I always use the entire package of chopped dates, maybe 1 1/2 cups. Over the years have made it healthier by subbing 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour with 2 c all purpose white flour, 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup Splenda, and 1 cup Splenda sugar blend(which is 1/2 sugar & 1/2 Splenda). It's always moist and always a big hit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
SO GOOD!I made this recipe on a whim because I had so many extra cans of pumpkin. My family loved it so much that they are requesting that I bring it to Christmas dinner! I made it just like the recipe says, with the exception that I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices. And I added chocolate chips. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So, I have to give it 4 stars only because I modified it a bit, so I don't know how it would be exactly as written. The bread turned out delicious, some of the best pumpkin bread I've had!!!! Here's what I changed: decreased oil to about 2/3 cup, added 3-4 tbsp milk, reduced white sugar to 1.5 cups, added about 1 cup brown sugar, and added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. It did take longer to bake, and I'm not sure why. I think it was a good hour and ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The BEST pumpkin bread I have had in years..and I have had a lot of pumpkin bread. Glad I lost my old recipe so I was forced to try a new one. I did add a cup of plump raisin ( soaked in water..Next time may try some rum to experiment.) and a cup of chopped walnuts. Very moist and just the right amount of spices. Great for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Moist, great flavor and easy, can't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wow. Made this as the recipe stated. Just topped with a glaze whole cooling oh 1 cup confectioners sugar, 5tsp milk and 2 tbs butter. It also took me a little longer to bake- 1 hr and 10 min. And it fit (2) 9x4 pans perfectly. It's delicious and addicting. Thank goodness it makes two loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States