Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is good, but I altered it to make it great. I use freshly ground spices which I doubled except for the salt, added a teaspoon of Madagascar vanilla, used half brown sugar and half white, and I doubled the pumpkin puree(this is optional, I had a huge can of pumpkin puree and wanted to use all of it). Everyone loved it. Next time I'm going to add orange or pineapple juice to the batter instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Koham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not deviate from the original recipe even though I was tempted!!! Mine turned out tasty, but just a little dry. Wasn't as moist as I had hoped for. So next time...and there will be a next time...I am going to take some of the other reviewers advice and see what happens. I really like this recipe and have high hopes it will meet my expectations the next time around. Thanks Laurie Bennett for this recipe and hopefully I will get it right!!! I will change my rating if it does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe because of the reviews, but it completely fell short. The middle of the bread never fully cooked despite extra time in the oven and the bottom was a bit burned too. Not sure what happened, but wouldn't use this recipe again when there are others that are easier and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Personally I loved this spicy and dense bread. My husband prefers the other recipe I usually make - but this one has better ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Awesome! I've made this three times now and everyone loves it. It was gobbled up fast when I made it to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a few alterations: I used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the 1 cup of vegetable oil and I used 2 1/2 cups of sucanat instead of 3 cups of sugar. The loaves were moist and sweet, tasted like pumpkin pie only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious! Some alterations: I added chocolate chips and raisins, as well as substituting a banana for some of the vegetable oil. I also added some oatmeal, flax seed, and wheat germ, and used mostly wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made this a few times and my family and I LOVE it. It is a very dense bread, and my loaf pans are bigger so it takes almost 90 minutes to bake at 325. I turn the oven down so the outside doesn't get over-done. I always add raisins to one batch for my husband, and chocolate chips to the other batch for everyone. Last night I accidentally opened a 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of the 15 oz, so I made 2 loaves w/raisins, 28 muffins and 1 small 3x5 loaf w/chocolate chips. I used 4 cups white sugar and 2 cups brown sugar. It's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe! To me it tasted a bit like pumpkin pie. A few changes that I did to the recipe was using parchment paper in the loaf pans instead of greasing and flouring, and 2 cups fresh pumpkin purée instead of canned. Such a good recipe. I will definitely be making more of this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Dyok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My favorite pumpkin bread. i have been making it for years. The original recipe is great however I always try to make it a little healthier with 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sause and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States