Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Oh My Gosh! I just made these as muffins because I could not find my loaf pan. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips because I thought the combination of chocolate and pumpkin sounded divine. Baked for about 20 minutes in paper cup liners in muffin pans. It made 26 muffins. I gobbled down three warm ones because I could not stop at one. They were so YUMMY!!! This recipe is a keeper!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe almost exactly, instead of three full cups of sugar, I partially filled each cup, and put a little extra of each spice in and now I can't stop eating it! I also made some muffins and put Liz Lovely Pumpkin Fig granola on top, gives it a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Deemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe is by far one of the best pumpkin bread recipes ever! I only make two changes: use applesauce instead of oil and add semi-sweet chocolate chips. Amazingly delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Didn't taste like pumpkin at all. It tasted more like a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it in a bundt pan with a cup of crushed pecans in the bottom and I also double all the spices in it. Added an 1/8 tsp of cardamom this time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is amazing!! My family raved about it and I'll be making it for the upcoming holidays. I read a lot of other reviews, took notes, and decided upon the following changes: I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce instead of all the oil. I used 1 c. white sugar and 1 c. packed brown sugar instead of 3 cups of white sugar. Added 1 tsp. of vanilla and the following spices 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp. ginger and 1 c. chopped walnuts. I watched the video and used a mixer which wasn't clear in the recipe. I also frosted it with the following cream cheese recipe: 4 oz. unsalted butter, softened 4 oz. cream cheese, softened 1 tsp. vanilla extract 2 c. powdered sugar In a large bowl, beat together the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla with an electric mixer on low speed. Add the powder sugar a cup at a time until smooth and creamy. Hope you like the changes as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I use it for loaves and for muffins/cupcakes. I like to make it a touch healthier but cutting the sugar down to 2 1/4 cups, switching the eggs out for flaxseed meal, and replacing half the oil with applesauce. These changes bring out the spices a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe, but I didn't have all of the individual spices needed. So I used a pumpkin spice mix (which includes all of the spices in the recipe) and the bread came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Gave this recipe as gifts during the holidays. Yummy toasted with a little butter for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is very good, but I made a few changes to make it even better. I used a 29oz can of pumpkin, divided the sugar into 1 cup white, 1.5 cups brown, and 1/2 cup molasses, omitted the water, used 1/2 cup oil and substituted the other 1/2 cup needed with plain applesauce, used 3 cups AP flour and 1/2 cup oat bran. I poured the mix into 2 large loaf pans and baked a little over an hour. The bread turned out extremely moist and it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancymarmalade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,081) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States