Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I am from singapore a freaking humid and hot country perhaps that is the reason my family and i find this bread way too sweet!! 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 tsp of respective spices will do the trick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Try adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract, pecans and walnuts. Wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This one deserves like 50 gazillion stars. I've been making it for years, but just realized I've never reviewed it. Shame on me, but if you're not already convinced to make it from all the other 5 star reviews, then I'm not sure what will convince you! This is moist, perfectly spiced, and just plain YUM. A few weeks ago I tried substituting the oil for apple sauce as suggested by a couple reviewers. Mehhhh, not so good. I mean, it wasn't horrible, but it had a weird rubbery texture. JUST STICK TO THE RECIPE. Trust me. I made another batch last night to take to a bake sale fundraiser we're having at work tomorrow. I made 1 loaf in a pretty decorative fall pan, then once it was cool, I drizzled a glaze over top that was suggested by reviewers: 1 cup of confectioners sugar, 2 Tbs melted butter, 5 tsp of milk, 1/8 tsp vanilla extract, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp allspice. With the rest of the batter I made 12 muffins, and also drizzled those with glaze. (Normally when I make this recipe, I make 2 loaves instead of 3) WINNER WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So good, and easy to make. Followed directions, and turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made this bread a number of times and love it. I decided to cut the oil by half and add 8oz. of sour cream as a substitute. It is just as moist, if not more and the flavor is wonderful~ I kept all other ingredients as is. I made two large loaves instead of 3 (simply because I only had two pans) and just cooked it a bit longer. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
So moist and delicious, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Smelled awful while baking, tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
first time i've made pumpkin bread and this recipe is fantastic! i used 2.5 cups of sugar instead of 3. it is pretty sweet so that extra half cup would've been too much for me. i don't have ground ginger so i substituted that with ground pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Perfect! wouldn't change a thing. Nice dense bread bursting with flavor! My go to pumpkin bread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T minus the baking pans. I only have 9 x 5 loaf pans so that is what I used. I had to bake the bread about 20 minutes longer than the recipe called for for the center to be done. I loved the ease of this recipe. My only complaints....the amount of sugar, it is very sweet and I don't like my breads sweet. I also would have liked to taste more of the pumpkin. I will try a couple of adjustments next time. Overall a good recipe and it is one that will be well liked by a majority of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States