Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made my own version of this to make it healthier for me. Used white whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 cup in total sugar/stevia and Splenda brown sugar, tsp vanilla. I also add a scant teaspoon of baking powder to the baking soda to insure a good rise. It's fabulous and honors this original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
amazing made it last night it makes a lot of servings and is great for kids in the morning for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe and perfect just the way it is!! Quick to prep too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
very good and moist bread but I think next time I'll add some chopped walnuts or craisins for a little more pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I love this recipe! Being an avid cooker such as myself this recipe is simple, quick, and aesthetically pleasing. I recommend this to anyone who can turn on an oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This pumpkin bread is amazing. Super moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MFazio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
wow! love this bread. I added a bit more spices, cuz I like it that way. yum! very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I love this bread! I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodiwh27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
It's a solid recipe. You're guaranteed a very moist, flavorful result - the perfect accompaniment to a warm drink on a cool Autumn day. For a healthier loaf, you can substitute applesauce for half the oil and use whole wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour. I would recommend cutting back the sugar to 2 cups. You can even substitute brown sugar for half the sugar for a deeper molasses flavor. When I'm tinkering with the recipe, I like to use apple juice instead of water and spice things up with 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp each of ginger, allspice, cloves, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
There was nothing wrong with it and everyone ate it... but there were comments about a lack of spicing and moisture. I believe making two loaves from this, as opposed to three, would help with dryness. We just found it somewhat bland and I wouldn't put the work into it for this particular quality. Sorry- usually I'm right on board with the majority rating but I can't do it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States