Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Sub half the flour with whole wheat flour. Added lots raisins, covered tops of batter with toasted walnut pieces just before baking, added extra powdered ginger and a bunch of black pepper along with rest of seasonings. Outstanding! Oh, recipe doubled easily and I got 4 loaves. Had a nice rise and color. Impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
FANTASTIC!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Waaah! I can't believe I didn't like it! I always love what my allrecipes peeps love. But I didn't this time. I thought the texture was too flat. This "spicy" bread could have had three times the spice and possibly still not be enough for me. I wanted waaaaay more pumpkin flavor. I felt like I was eating a vanilla spice muffin. Maybe I'll try it after it has rested a day and I'll like it more and be able to edit my comment. But if not, next time I'll do half whole wheat, sub buttermilk for water, double the salt, reduce the sugar by 1/3, double the pumpkin, halve the oil, and triple the spices! Heck, let's throw some nuts in, too, while we're changing everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Incredible! Made "as-is" and also with other reviewer suggestions (double spices, half brown sugar to white sugar, 1/2 cup melted butter & 1/2 cup applesauce instead of oil, apple juice instead of water, added walnuts and golden raisins). Both ways were moist and full of flavor. Made 2 loaves and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
So moist and delicious. Perfect recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
So yummy and great as cupcakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed Lovemyfamily09's suggestions, with the exception of modifications to the spices. We also added a bag of mini chocolate chips. We made muffins, baked at 350 degrees for 25 minutes and they turned out great! I would probably only use half a bag of chocolate chips next time because they were a little too sweet, IMO. But otherwise perfect! The spices were spot on as written in the original recipe. This one is going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My husband and I made this 3 days ago and if stored in the fridge still stays incredibly moist. This is by far the most flavorful, moist, delicious pumpkin bread we have ever made. Recipe is easy to follow and will be making this for years to come. BTW there is nothing that needs to be changed the recipe is perfect all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe comes from "Cooking Down East" by Marjorie Standish, a famous Maine cook who had a column in a local paper--old-fashioned New England cooking at it's very best. This pumpkin bread recipe is just one reason to find a copy of this book. I refuse to make any other pumpkin bread recipe--it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
i've been making this recipe for 50 years, a favorite of my 4 sons and my 8 grandsons. got the recipe from a lady in buffalo N.Y. and have been making it ever since. it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,921) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States