Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I have made this a few times now. It is wonderful. I only use 2 cups of sugar. My kids are teens and I find that sometimes their friends are hesitant to try it; they don't know if they like pumpkin! Turns out they do! I usually make two dozen muffins and a small loaf of bread or 1 dozen muffins and a medium loaf of bread. I add regular sized chocolate chips to half the batter. I would say the chocolate chip muffins are preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I made the recipe as is -- no alterations -- and it was delicious. I even made pumpkin bread French toast with a few slices. My family ate it all before I got to it, but I hear it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Ford Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. I used 2 cups fresh sugar pumpkin that I baked in the oven in place of the canned pumpkin. I added 1 teaspoon vanilla from suggestions. Next time I might add some raisins. It made two 9 x 4 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very good. Made 7 mini loaves from this. I did 1.5x for each of the spices and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I have made this several times and we love it every time! It makes 2 loaves and is moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tastes great as is. Very happy with it! I'll have to try it next time with some of the other users' suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very good. I too did the 1/2 applesauce 1/2 oil mix and only 1c white and 1c brown sugar. They weren't too sweet that way. Brushed them with the cinnamon sugar butter mix n they came out great. Will add more pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and this is our family's all time favorite pumpkin bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I make this over and over again! So moist, so flavorful, and delicious. Perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I can't stop making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States