Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Was determined to make this without going to the store - I didn't have oil so I used 1/2 C butter. I used 2 C brown sugar and 1 C white. Perfect pumpkin bread! Will make again soon when I have all ingredients and compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
When I stuck a fork in the center to test, it was gooey. I did the logical thing and licked the fork. SALTY. The other spices and pumpkin are barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is a great jumping off point and is very forgiving - especially for people like me who don't always check to make sure I have all of the ingredients on hand before I start baking. Don't have enough oil? Use melted butter or applesauce. Only one cup of white sugar left? Substitute brown for the rest. I used a combo of oil and melted butter and 1 1/2 cups white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. I doubled the cinnamon and ginger because we like a lot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. Saw this in the magazine and decided to try it- best idea ever!!! Subbed half the oil for unsweetened applesauce and dropped 2 of the egg yolks and it was still absolutely phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddpierson
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Love the recipe!! Made changes for gluten sensitivity. I used a gluten free baking mix coconut/palm sugar and coconut oil. I also used more of the spices then it originally called for. The result is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is the most wonderfull recipe I've ever tried! The bread was moist and just plain delicious!! Thank you for sharing!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe but did what Donna S did, and substituted 3 cups of sugar with 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp Vanilla. Since I didn't have enough flour I added 1 cup of pancake mix since I was short a cup of flour. I used glassware and it took a little longer as I used 9 x 5 loaf glassware.The results were excellent and my fellow employees loved it and asked for the recipe which I shared. Congrats Laurie on an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Chapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erae84
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While I love taking liberties when baking, I can't stand when people rate a recipe "5 Stars", then go on to say everything they changed about it. I wanted to review these for exactly what the recipe called for. They were pretty good. They were fairly uncomplicated, and have a nice, mellow taste. This was my first time making pumpkin bread from scratch. It was my hope that it would go far and beyond the Libby's Pumpkin Bread Kit I usually buy this time of year. It really didn't, but it was still good. This made one loaf and a dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erae84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this bread 100+ times. It's easy and excellent. Used pumpkin pie spice and a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I did add some dried cranberries to the mix. It was hard not to eat the whole thing at first seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,080) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States