Down Under Lemon Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
this is an incredible lemon tart. wonderfully tart, and not too sweet. i was too rushed to make the crust and used a pre-made one and it was still amazing. this will be my standard lemon tart recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Everyone raved about this tart and wanted second helpings. Didn't put as much lemon zest in but other wise followed the recipe. Will bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent! I wouldn't change a thing about this. I loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Great tart. Very easy recipe. I skipped the chill time and very carefully rolled out the soft dough. I also didn't add lemon zest. I don't understand why you would add lemon zest and then strain it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Very tangy! I loved it though! I made this for my friend who loves lemon flavored everything, she said it was a little too tangy, which surprised me, coming from her. But all in all, if you're looking for a recipe with a lot of lemon flavor, this is the one, most definatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I used this crust to make a fruit tart and it was sooooooo good..I'll definitely be using this crust for everything from now on. I made the extra crust into cookies and they were probably the best shortbread cookies I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I've made this a couple times now and I just love it! It is definitely a "TART" tart, so if you're not a real lemon lover, this one may not be for your. If you are though, be prepared to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This recipe is a smash hit with all our guests. It's light, delicious, and refreshing. I recommend going the extra mile to use fresh squeezed lemon juice as the flavor is somewhat dulled with bottled lemon juice. The crust is fantastic and it's a fabulously pretty presentation. One other note. The recipe says not to overmix the filling. If you do whip or whisk it too hard bubbles form, and these often will remain during baking and detract from the prettiness of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
There is only one bad thing about this Recipe you need to make sure you have guests over so you don't eat the whole tart yourself its purfect the pastry is just sweet enough to balance the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I took the risk and made this for a dinner party of 10, everyone was bowled over by the fantastic taste and presentation. What a lovely way to end the evening! I too put vanilla extract in the pastry and adjusted the lemon mixture to my taste, tangy but sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States