Down Under Lemon Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I must say, the recipes for this pastry is probably the best I have ever used! It is really easy to work with, providing you use more water than what is suggested. It doesn't crack, and the result is quite a biscuity, even textured pastry. Perhaps in the future I might try adding a little vanilla sugar, or vanilla essence for an extra 'biscuity' taste. The actual filling has a really nice texture too, and overall, this is a yummy tart. When I make this next time, I might use a little less lemon rind and juice, because it was a little too lemony for me. But I guess that comes down to personal preference. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This recipe is a smash hit with all our guests. It's light, delicious, and refreshing. I recommend going the extra mile to use fresh squeezed lemon juice as the flavor is somewhat dulled with bottled lemon juice. The crust is fantastic and it's a fabulously pretty presentation. One other note. The recipe says not to overmix the filling. If you do whip or whisk it too hard bubbles form, and these often will remain during baking and detract from the prettiness of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Thanks for an excellent recipe. Made similar many years ago when I lived in Britain. For those who do not know what castor sugar is (or it is not available where they shop) you can put regular granulated sugar in the blender for a few mins. and that will make it finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made the tart a while ago, and it was a bit too tangy for me, but it would be easy to reduce the lemon in it. I plan to make it again. The thing I really loved about this recipe, though, was the tart crust. I hate traditional pie crust, so I substitute this tart crust for pie crust in nearly all my recipes now. I also add a bit of vanilla to the tart dough. It's great with apples for an apple pie. One recipe of the tart crust easily does a single-crust pie and could probably be stretched to work in a double crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan denison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I took the risk and made this for a dinner party of 10, everyone was bowled over by the fantastic taste and presentation. What a lovely way to end the evening! I too put vanilla extract in the pastry and adjusted the lemon mixture to my taste, tangy but sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
There is only one bad thing about this Recipe you need to make sure you have guests over so you don't eat the whole tart yourself its purfect the pastry is just sweet enough to balance the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very nice and tangy went down a treat with the family. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent! I wouldn't change a thing about this. I loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is amazing. I'm not an amazing cook but it came out great. I made it for my mom on mother's day and ever since she's been asking me to make some more. One thing I did though was I diluted the lemon juice with water and used less lemon zest. But other that, simply delish! The crust especially is amazing. I make it like all the time just by itself! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Everyone raved about this tart and wanted second helpings. Didn't put as much lemon zest in but other wise followed the recipe. Will bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States