Down Under Lemon Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very nice and tangy went down a treat with the family. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I must say, the recipes for this pastry is probably the best I have ever used! It is really easy to work with, providing you use more water than what is suggested. It doesn't crack, and the result is quite a biscuity, even textured pastry. Perhaps in the future I might try adding a little vanilla sugar, or vanilla essence for an extra 'biscuity' taste. The actual filling has a really nice texture too, and overall, this is a yummy tart. When I make this next time, I might use a little less lemon rind and juice, because it was a little too lemony for me. But I guess that comes down to personal preference. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made the tart a while ago, and it was a bit too tangy for me, but it would be easy to reduce the lemon in it. I plan to make it again. The thing I really loved about this recipe, though, was the tart crust. I hate traditional pie crust, so I substitute this tart crust for pie crust in nearly all my recipes now. I also add a bit of vanilla to the tart dough. It's great with apples for an apple pie. One recipe of the tart crust easily does a single-crust pie and could probably be stretched to work in a double crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan denison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Everyone raved about this tart and wanted second helpings. Didn't put as much lemon zest in but other wise followed the recipe. Will bake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent! I wouldn't change a thing about this. I loved the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Great tart. Very easy recipe. I skipped the chill time and very carefully rolled out the soft dough. I also didn't add lemon zest. I don't understand why you would add lemon zest and then strain it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
this is an incredible lemon tart. wonderfully tart, and not too sweet. i was too rushed to make the crust and used a pre-made one and it was still amazing. this will be my standard lemon tart recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Very tangy! I loved it though! I made this for my friend who loves lemon flavored everything, she said it was a little too tangy, which surprised me, coming from her. But all in all, if you're looking for a recipe with a lot of lemon flavor, this is the one, most definatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is amazing. I'm not an amazing cook but it came out great. I made it for my mom on mother's day and ever since she's been asking me to make some more. One thing I did though was I diluted the lemon juice with water and used less lemon zest. But other that, simply delish! The crust especially is amazing. I make it like all the time just by itself! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I used this crust to make a fruit tart and it was sooooooo good..I'll definitely be using this crust for everything from now on. I made the extra crust into cookies and they were probably the best shortbread cookies I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States