Down South Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This combines my favorite pies; peacan pie and sweet potato pie! My family looks forward to this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This has become a family and friend fave. Since this yields two pies, I'm able to have one topped with the nuts and one without. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
best sweet potatoe pic recipe i have ever used. yumm....a little extra work is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was my first ever pie and perfect! I was a born baker, so I did alter it a lil. I used 2 16 oz. Bruce's canned pineapple-orange sweet potatoes, drained & mashed, instead of 1 can of mashed yams... I also added 1 Tsp. of vanilla extract to mix. Instead of suggested topping ~ I baked this for an extra 10-15 min. w/mini marshmellows and chopped pecans sprinkled on top.((until mellows are lightly browned and puffy)) It made for a pretty pie! This recipe was great w/the never never fail pie pastry (again, altered) I rate ***** for both! I had tons of compliments and will continue to make this for every major holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The Pie was delicious. I don't eat sweet potato pie, but I will be eating this one. This was the fist time that I baked a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Great, Great, Great! This was a big hit at the office and with my family! I cut the sugar a bit the second time I made it because I found it too sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is really good but I wish I would have read diamondlil's baking recommendations ahead of time. I baked as directed, even covering in foil for 1/2 the time and baking on a higher rack and still came just short of burning the crust. Still edible but a few more mins. and it would have been ruined. Having said all that, this was my first time making or trying a sweet potato pie and thought it was fabulous. I told my kids it was a pumpkin pie so they would eat it and no one, except my husband, could really tell the difference. I didn't think this was a very thick pie so I wouldn't recommend the deep dish crust - a regular one should be fine. Also, the nut topping was quite sweet so I would cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 a cup or a little less. This will be on our Thanksgiving menu this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good pie.The first pie I made I baked at 425° as directed, but left off the topping. The crust got too brown. The second pie I baked at 375° for 35 minutes and then I reduced the oven temperature to 325° and baked another 25 minutes(I omitted the nut topping).I covered the edges loosely with foil the entire cooking time and it was perfect. This is a very sweet pie. You could reduce the sugar somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Delicious! I left off the pecans on half of it for my daughter and just used butter and brown sugar. She ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is an AWESOME PIE!!! If you realize that this is for 2 pies and not for 1...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States