Down South Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good pie.The first pie I made I baked at 425° as directed, but left off the topping. The crust got too brown. The second pie I baked at 375° for 35 minutes and then I reduced the oven temperature to 325° and baked another 25 minutes(I omitted the nut topping).I covered the edges loosely with foil the entire cooking time and it was perfect. This is a very sweet pie. You could reduce the sugar somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
The taste was a big hit with my friends, but I found it needed to cook quite a bit longer than the recommended 30-35 minutes. I ended up turning down the heat so that the crust wouldn't burn. The filling was tasty and people who told me they didn't like pumpkin pie said they LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADIOGURL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I have to say, this is a very good pie. Very sweet and very fluffy. I did not add the topping though, because I used the pecans already in the crust and I thought that might be to much pecans. This recipe makes a little more filling than I thought. I used the rest in a med. sized custard cup and cooked it along with the pie. Very delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was my first ever pie and perfect! I was a born baker, so I did alter it a lil. I used 2 16 oz. Bruce's canned pineapple-orange sweet potatoes, drained & mashed, instead of 1 can of mashed yams... I also added 1 Tsp. of vanilla extract to mix. Instead of suggested topping ~ I baked this for an extra 10-15 min. w/mini marshmellows and chopped pecans sprinkled on top.((until mellows are lightly browned and puffy)) It made for a pretty pie! This recipe was great w/the never never fail pie pastry (again, altered) I rate ***** for both! I had tons of compliments and will continue to make this for every major holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
OK - forget the part where this is an absolutely wonderful pie! The best part is that it makes enough for two 9" pies but freezes very very well. I used 1/2 at Thanksgiving, froze the remainder and then thawed and used it again at Christmas (by family demand). It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is really good but I wish I would have read diamondlil's baking recommendations ahead of time. I baked as directed, even covering in foil for 1/2 the time and baking on a higher rack and still came just short of burning the crust. Still edible but a few more mins. and it would have been ruined. Having said all that, this was my first time making or trying a sweet potato pie and thought it was fabulous. I told my kids it was a pumpkin pie so they would eat it and no one, except my husband, could really tell the difference. I didn't think this was a very thick pie so I wouldn't recommend the deep dish crust - a regular one should be fine. Also, the nut topping was quite sweet so I would cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 a cup or a little less. This will be on our Thanksgiving menu this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is an AWESOME PIE!!! If you realize that this is for 2 pies and not for 1...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I served this at thanksgiving, and everyone wanted the recipe, they really loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTEKITTY996

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is excellent! My first attempt at pie-making, and it was fabulous and a BIG hit with all! Will be bringing 2 more to Christmas dinner; a new tradition is born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
best sweet potatoe pic recipe i have ever used. yumm....a little extra work is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States