Down South Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I have to say, this is a very good pie. Very sweet and very fluffy. I did not add the topping though, because I used the pecans already in the crust and I thought that might be to much pecans. This recipe makes a little more filling than I thought. I used the rest in a med. sized custard cup and cooked it along with the pie. Very delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
The taste was a big hit with my friends, but I found it needed to cook quite a bit longer than the recommended 30-35 minutes. I ended up turning down the heat so that the crust wouldn't burn. The filling was tasty and people who told me they didn't like pumpkin pie said they LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADIOGURL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
OK - forget the part where this is an absolutely wonderful pie! The best part is that it makes enough for two 9" pies but freezes very very well. I used 1/2 at Thanksgiving, froze the remainder and then thawed and used it again at Christmas (by family demand). It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I have never had sweet potato pie but my son loves it so I searched your web site and tried this one. I don't like sweet potatoes but this recipe is wonderful. Its at the top of my list to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I will never make another pumpkin pie! This recipe is FABULOUS! It disappeared in mintes and I'm on my fourth pie in two weeks. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
It received rave reviews from friends and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I was not too thrilled, but it was my own fault. I used fresh sweet potato insead of canned and I think that made the difference. Still had an okay flavor, just a little bland for my taste. I'll will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I recently made this to use up some sweet potatoes that I had and served it to some some southern friend who were visiting me in Germany. The mother of my friends was so impressed that she said "This is simply the best sweet potatoe pie that I've had in years. Not to sweet and not to heavy." If one just reduces the amount of sugar in the recipe, and combined with the "Never, never fail pie pastry" you have a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
First time making this recipe..made it for our Thanksgiving Dinner at church.... A TOTAL HIT WITH EVERYONE!! NOW I AM KNOWN AS THE SWEET POTATO PIE LADY :0) THANKS WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
great taste!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States