Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
My mom has made these green beans for years, with a few minor variations. She uses canned green beans, although she has used fresh occasionally. We use a quartered onion instead of the onion powder, a tablespoon of bacon grease instead of the lard, and lots of salt and pepper. Sometimes she will throw in a couple of slices of bacon, we don't use ham hocks, but they are probably pretty good. A staple at any family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This may very well be the best green beans ever! I had forgoten just how great green beans can taste. My grandmother made green beens like this in the 1950's. She always added cubed potatoes and onions. I did the same the first time I made these. I also added cubed ham because I didn't have a ham hock. THIS IS HOW GREEN BEANS ARE SUPPOSED TO TASTE! Another time when I made these, I sauted some mushrooms and added to the green beans after they were done.... MMMMMMMM GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I've been making this recipe for awhile now. I searched and searched for the recipe of how my grandmother made her green beans. I cannot tell you how much I love these beans. I'm not a big fan of ham hock so I get a porklette pork shoulder butt. They are kind of hard to find but the dish is a meal when you add it. Thanks grneyedmustang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe. I substituted a 4 ounce block of salt pork for the ham hock because my grocer didn’t have one the day I shopped. Next time I make this, I’ll probably add half a sweet onion, quartered and separated. One word of advice: DON’T use stringless green beans. They just don’t have the right flavor for this recipe. Use half-runners for a taste right out of granny’s kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is **THE** southern way to cook your green beans!! I did add 1/2 teaspoon more salt, they were not salty enough. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is the way I've been making green beans for the last 35 years. Now days, I usually throw them in the crock pot and let them cook all night and all the next day. Add a little bit more salt, cut up some potatoes in them when they're nearly done and you can't ask for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is "almost" the recipe my mother-in-law always used, which my husband's family called "Kentucky Beans". The beans are supposed to be over-cooked and cooked "low". My neighbor once told me, "But, you are cooking all the vitamins away!" My answer, "I cook evrything else healthy, but I cook these, just because they taste so good!" I have always "slightly over-peppered" the beans, and omit the salt, because the ham hock makes it un-necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I made this recipe for 40 people. Turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe turned out awesome. I used 4 lbs. of beans and only 6-8 cups of water ... worked just fine in the slow cooker. I also used smoked ham hocks which added another layer of flavor. Everybody at dinner raved about these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States