Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This recipe is a great idea, but the cook time is too long, the seasonings need to be increased due to being diluted by the water, and there is no mention of using the meat from the ham hocks in the finished dish. I made the recipe as it is stated, then had to make adjustments to make it taste like something other than greasy canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Made these tonight with Southern Living Chicken Fried Steak and gravy, mashed potatoes and cornbread. These were very good! Omitted the ham hock and used a bit less water since I needed these to be done faster. Used a can of Allen's Italian green beans and more bacon grease than called for. Great comfort food! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Deeeliscous! I substituted the water with chicken broth and the ham hock with (2)smoked turkey wings. Big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe was great. I exchanged the ham hock with salt bacon and left out the lard. I have never tried fresh green beans...I don't think I'll ever eat can green beans again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is the way I've been making green beans for the last 35 years. Now days, I usually throw them in the crock pot and let them cook all night and all the next day. Add a little bit more salt, cut up some potatoes in them when they're nearly done and you can't ask for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Not enough flavor at all. Needs a lot more seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Very good and very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I've been making this recipe for awhile now. I searched and searched for the recipe of how my grandmother made her green beans. I cannot tell you how much I love these beans. I'm not a big fan of ham hock so I get a porklette pork shoulder butt. They are kind of hard to find but the dish is a meal when you add it. Thanks grneyedmustang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
8/21/04 I did not like this recipe. The flavour was good, but the beans were too over cooked for my liking. They reminded both hubbie and I of canned beans. I don't like canned veggies at all! I did not add the lard, but did add some bacon. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 4 or 5 hours. One good thing, I used the broth to make a nice 15 bean soup...now that was GREAT! = = = = = = = = = = 9/6/04 I just made this recipe again, but did not use a slow cooker. I really liked it. I used fresh onion and garlic instead of powder and smoked slab bacon instead of lard and a ham hock. I simmered it for about 90 minutes....GREAT!!!! I'm upgrading from 2 stars to 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This may very well be the best green beans ever! I had forgoten just how great green beans can taste. My grandmother made green beens like this in the 1950's. She always added cubed potatoes and onions. I did the same the first time I made these. I also added cubed ham because I didn't have a ham hock. THIS IS HOW GREEN BEANS ARE SUPPOSED TO TASTE! Another time when I made these, I sauted some mushrooms and added to the green beans after they were done.... MMMMMMMM GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States