Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
A+++++ You gotta try this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
My mom has made these green beans for years, with a few minor variations. She uses canned green beans, although she has used fresh occasionally. We use a quartered onion instead of the onion powder, a tablespoon of bacon grease instead of the lard, and lots of salt and pepper. Sometimes she will throw in a couple of slices of bacon, we don't use ham hocks, but they are probably pretty good. A staple at any family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is "almost" the recipe my mother-in-law always used, which my husband's family called "Kentucky Beans". The beans are supposed to be over-cooked and cooked "low". My neighbor once told me, "But, you are cooking all the vitamins away!" My answer, "I cook evrything else healthy, but I cook these, just because they taste so good!" I have always "slightly over-peppered" the beans, and omit the salt, because the ham hock makes it un-necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This recipe is a great idea, but the cook time is too long, the seasonings need to be increased due to being diluted by the water, and there is no mention of using the meat from the ham hocks in the finished dish. I made the recipe as it is stated, then had to make adjustments to make it taste like something other than greasy canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Made these tonight with Southern Living Chicken Fried Steak and gravy, mashed potatoes and cornbread. These were very good! Omitted the ham hock and used a bit less water since I needed these to be done faster. Used a can of Allen's Italian green beans and more bacon grease than called for. Great comfort food! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Deeeliscous! I substituted the water with chicken broth and the ham hock with (2)smoked turkey wings. Big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe was great. I exchanged the ham hock with salt bacon and left out the lard. I have never tried fresh green beans...I don't think I'll ever eat can green beans again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is the way I've been making green beans for the last 35 years. Now days, I usually throw them in the crock pot and let them cook all night and all the next day. Add a little bit more salt, cut up some potatoes in them when they're nearly done and you can't ask for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Not enough flavor at all. Needs a lot more seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Very good and very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States