Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'm from Miami wihcih is not considered the South. However, my Mother's side of the family is from the South and this is authentic southern green beans. For those who complain they're too mushy, this isn't the recipe for you. I love quick stir fired garlicky green beans too but this is what I love at holidays. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I thought this was really bland. Not sure what it needs. I used chicken stock instead of water. I thought about added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and red potatoes. I would not make this recipe again without modifying it into something tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
GREAT RECIPE!!! It's also good with salt pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a holiday favorite. My brother says he would drive home through 5 states just to have these green beans. Great Recipe!!! I triple it for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyLM101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is the way I cook my green beans. However, you only need to cook them on high for about 1 hr; and they will taste even better if you cook them in an iron pot or deep skillet. A true southern cook is never without a good iron skillet! Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This method is the way I first learned to make beans from my Mamaw years ago. I dice bacon, fry it in the pay, throw the fresh beans in, deglaze the pan with Chicken Stock and small amount of water (add enough to come up about 1/4 of beans.) Add the seasonings to taste, cover and simmer/steam for approx. 2 hours. Check the seasonings again and serve. This is everyone's favorite way to eat fresh beans. The flavor is excellent. Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Needed more salt, but otherwise fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These beans were very tasty (very similar to the the beans I learned how to make from my granny and mama). My comments: 1) The original poster must have had a saltier ham hock than the ones I get - as other posters have mentioned, I do add more salt. 2) I always use minced, fresh onion rather than onion powder. 3) I never use lard, bacon grease is the way to go. If you don't have a ham hock, you can really just use bacon grease alone. 4) For the reviewers who didn't care for the taste/texture of the beans - these are not haricots vert and are not intended to be crisp. These are southern-style green beans (as indicated by the name of the recipe) and if you like 'em, you like 'em - if you don't, you don't. Some people enjoy both kinds(like me). 5) And finally, if you want to get truly southern, serve these beans with real southern cornbread (NOT the sweet kind), cooked in a cast iron skillet. Don't discard the soup (the pot likker, as my granny would say) and don't discard the ham hock until you've picked the meat off of it and scattered it in the beans. You can also throw some small new potatoes on top of the beans for the last half hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Good down home green beans. I did make some changes, I substituted season salt for the salt. I increased my seasonings, but similar to other reviewers I felt that keeping the seasonings at the suggested measurement wasn't enough, since the water diluted it. I added minced onions, garlic, and slabbed bacon. I also used cooking oil instead of lard and decreased it to 1 tsp, since my bacon made enough fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
So delicious and so very easy. I made in a crock pot and would never do it any other way, as it's incredibly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki's mommy
Living In: Thornton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States