Down-South Style Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I simmered the salted pork (which I substituted for the ham hock) to render out some of the fat before I began. Then I added about 2 cups of chicken stock (that's all I had) in place of the water and about 1 cup of diced onion to the skillet. I omitted the onion powder (because of the diced onions) and finished the dish as instructed. I was trying to copy my favorite green beans from a steak house restaurant, and I think it turned out great. My family thought they were very good. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Boles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipe was a BIG hit with my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I'm not from the South but my husband is. He was craving his grandmother's green beans. I found this recipe and gave it try. He loved them! He said, "they were delicious." Thanks! I will be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
"okay". nothing amazing. My word of advice...season, season, and season some more. I will make them again, increasing the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made these beans and they were off the hook!!! Even the kids loved them. I did not have a hamhock so I used 3 teaspoons of powdered ham base instead. I had two pounds of beans. These beans were fantastic! They are destined to be a staple for many meals to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKJAMES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
If you want GREAT SOUTHERN STYLE GREEN BEANS, follow this recipe. My dad's family is from Arkansas, and mom is from Texas. These are EXACTLY like my paternal grandma used to make. I was raised on Southern food, and this is the REAL DEAL. The only thing different I did was use real onion instead of onion powder. Don't expect crispy green beans. These are DOWN SOUTH as the recipe says. Good old SOUTHERN green beans. THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I too substitute salt pork for the ham hock. My family loves this recipe and yes the beans are cooked until they are very soft but this is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent traditional recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
one word, DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! Was recently back in Kentucky and as always, I try to eat local recipes vs anything I can get at home. Southern Green Beans were on the menu, so I tried them. They were just like these - soft and flavorful. I used a ham bone I froze after Christmas dinner as well as a ham steak diced up - outstanding!! One of my family members likes things a little more on the sweet side, so they added a little BBQ sauce. I tasted their version and that was yummy too. This one is a keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States