Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Outstanding! After reading all 259 reviews this is what I did: (note, I doubled the recipe) I lightly sprayed a 13x9 pyrex with cooking spray, I measured out 4 cups of dry elbow macaroni, cooked this is boiling salty water for approximately 15 minutes. Drained in colander. Meanwhile, in same pot as the macaroni was boiled, I melted the butter (1 stick minus 2 Tbs), added the flour gradually (1/2 cup) and whisked constantly. I then added the milk slowly (4 cups), whisking constantly. I then added 1 lb of Velveeta that I had cubed, 2 tsp of garlic salt, 3/4 tsp of pepper, a dash of dry mustard and a shake of cayenne pepper. After the velveeta had melted I then added 3 cups of shredded cheddar cheese. Once all was melted together and stirred thoroughly I added the cooked macaroni. Placed in the dish, topped with reserved 2 Tbs of melted butter tossed with crushed buttery round crackers. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. This was perfection! Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
It was an average homemade macaroni & cheese. My only suggestion is to only cook your noodles for half the time - so they are not already "done" when you put them in the oven. If you only "half cook" them before baking when they come out of the oven they are not mushy but al dente. I always do this when a recipe calls for a cooked noodle to go in the oven, it turns out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I've been using this as my primary mac and cheese recipe for years and everyone raves on how good it is. I just HAVE to make it for all family functions. I'm from the south and we take mac and cheese seriously down here. This recipe is a heck of alot easier than some and not near as dry. Sometimes i use the velveeta, sometimes i don't(when i don't have it on hand) and it doesn't make too much of a difference. THe velveeta is what makes it so creamy i think. I also add more cheese, maybe half acup. I usually forgo the cracker crumbs but a shortcut around baking it for so long is just putting in uder the broiler. Also let it set for a few minutes after browning so it can set up a little. THe cheese will run everywhere it you cut into it immediately. My husband has banned all boxed varieties from thehouse and has because quite the mac and cheese snob thanks to this yummy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I didn't have any of this but Hubs did and the man of few words said it was "very, very good - crunchy and creamy." And when asked how many stars he assigned it five without hesitation. Since he's pretty stingy with stars that must have been some darned good macaroni and cheese. Too bad it's no longer in the AR line-up. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Down-Home-Macaroni-and-Cheese/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
YUM YUM YUM! This is very good. I have made this several times already. My son aks me to make this, no more boxed stuff. I cut down on the prp time by making the white sauce in the micowave oven, it wont scorch in there, and dosent have to be stirred all the time, 6 minutes tops and its down. Very good! Thanks for the great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
We liked this pretty well. For the reviewer that commented about the floury taste, be sure to let milk and flour mixture lightly boil, stirring constantly, for at least 3 - 5 minutes before adding the cheese, this procedure cooks the flour taste out. I used Panko breadcrumbs for crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This may be the best recipe I have gotten off this site! I have never had such amazing mac and cheese. This will be my recipe forever and may start going to pot lucks. I really can't say enough about how cheesy it is! I used Velveeta Light too and it worked fine. I wanted to get in the casserole dish and eat my way out. This is THE macaroni and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I have been making this for a while now and it is one of my favorite dishes. I double the recipe and use 3 bricks of my favorite cheese (usally sharp cheddar) instead of velvetta. You can also just boil the noodles first and then do everything right in the pot with them( the butter, flour and so on) With a double recipe just pur into a 9 by 13 inch pan and cook for 35 minutes or till cheese is getting brown and bubbly at the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
With the few changes I made, I definitely rate this a 5+. I modified/doubled the recipe and used 1 lb of elbows, about 10 oz of Velveeta cubed, 8oz package of casserole cheese, 1 pint of 1/2 and 1/2 with about 1 cup of skim milk, 1 stick of butter with 1/2c of flour. It was very creamy and not overly cheesy! Wonderful comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was so wonderful and creamy! I've never cooked with Velveeta before because it seems pretty gross, but decided to try this macaroni and cheese recipe because I wanted a creamy mac and cheese and this had good reviews. The only things I did to change the recipe are I used reduced fat Velveeta, used sharp cheddar and I didn't do the bread crumb topping or bake it. I was going to cook more macaroni for it when I saw that the noodles were practically swimming in the sauce, but decided not to and I'm glad I didn't! As it was, the sauce was perfect and smooth and creamy. It was also very filling. Instead of using this as a side dish, I recommend having a bowl of it with a salad of thinly sliced cucumbers, diced tomatoes, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar (1 part vinegar to 3 parts oil, plus a pinch of salt and sugar). This is comfort food at it's best! It also tastes great if you leave out the Velveeta and add a bit more cheddar in it's place...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States