Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This wasn't near enough cheese sauce. When I made this, the sauce was a little too thick so I ended up adding another cup of fat free evaporated milk (I used that instead of regular milk to make it creamier because all I keep on hand now is fat free milk) milk and another cup of shredded cheese and 1/4 pound of Velveeta. I did add what I usually add to my macaroni and cheese; one tablespoon of dijon, a teaspoon each of garlic/onion powders and a couple shakes of Frank's hot sauce. My family thought the end result was very tasty, I had one bite and thought it was pretty close to the macaroni and cheese that Mom made with government cheese. I highly recommend that you add more milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Not too bad, seemed a bit bland to me...Will make again but, will dr up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIA71267

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious And Creamy, a kid pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe. I absolutely hate Mac and Cheese recipes that call for egg so this was perfect. What I loved most about it was the fact that it heated up perfectly and wasn't oily. It is perfectly creamy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Really creamy, very tasty. The only thing I didn't like with this recipe is I didn't think the topping was enough. I will double the topping next time, and then it would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Doubled the recipe & the kids liked it. I didn't put the bread crumbs on top due to preference. Overall it was creamy & tasty! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am still searching for the perfect homemade macaroni and cheese recipe. This was not it. I doubled the recipe for a birthday party. I didn't bake it and kept it warm in the slow cooker. It was creamy but wasn't as cheesy tasting as I would like. It almost reminded me of the mac & cheese served at school that was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is the best mac & cheese! The kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is pretty much exactly how I make my mac and cheese, except I use a pound of elbow macaroni (or wagon wheels), double the sauce and use all velveeta (like 1 pound total). Sometimes I'll add a little garlic powder and season salt for extra flavor and I ALWAYS add fresh ground black pepper. This recipe is outstanding....creamy, rich and delicious! This is usually a meal for us on it's own! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States