Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
very good! it is VERY cheesey, almost too much, which, for a cheese person like me is saying a lot. so rich! my husband said this is what you would eat if you had been out chopping wood or shoveling snow for a few hours... I added a bit more cooked noodles as it seemed runny. I also added a little dry mustard and worchestershitre, because I always do but it is not necessary. To make it less runny or rich add noodles. thanks for the recipe it was gone in a flash (even though no one was chopping wood or shoveling snow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe! We all loved it - I think we like this one better from the one I used to make because it uses cheddar in addition to velveeta so the texture was nicer. The only change I made was to use whole wheat flour and whole wheat macaroni. This is my mac & cheese recipe now - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Oh woooow! This was so creamy and cheesilicious! I tell you this was a winner and 5 stars plus +++. I scaled this recipe down to two servings since there are only two of us. Th flour mixture was cooked down before stirring in (skim) milk slowly and stirring until a boil formed. I mixed in the cheeses and then macaroni and put everything together with ease, nice and well blended with the bread crumbs on top. YUM! This velveeta cheese made this dish along with the breadcrumbs, nice crumbly topping. Definitely will be a repeat in my home and will end up in my recipe box for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Nice and smooth and creamy, just like it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I didn't have any of this but Hubs did and the man of few words said it was "very, very good - crunchy and creamy." And when asked how many stars he assigned it five without hesitation. Since he's pretty stingy with stars that must have been some darned good macaroni and cheese. Too bad it's no longer in the AR line-up. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Down-Home-Macaroni-and-Cheese/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made this exactly how it was written, which at that time I gave it 4 stars. Then I made it again a week later and changed it bit by not adding any flour and just melting the cheese, butter and some milk. Then after that, I mixed it in with the macaroni and then added a full bag of monterey cheese and then added a half bag of mild cheddar on top.....hey...can't have enough cheese....the more....the better!! Once it was done cooking in the oven.....it turned into a whole lot of love.......5 stars all the way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! This will be my go-to recipe from now on. The sauce was creamy, and didn't turn grainy while it baked in the oven. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Nowhere near enough cheese in this. I followed the recipe but took it out of the oven for minute to get some for my son. When I tasted it it mostly tasted of milk and flour. I quickly grated a block of sharp cheddar and mixed that in and put it back in the oven for the rest of the recommended baking time. The extra cheese helped a lot but had I served it as the recipe directs, everyone would have been disappointed besides my 4 yr. old who likes bland. If I were to make this again, I would definitely double the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This hits the spot, and is easy. I added a dash of garlic salt, cayenne pepper and dry mustard while melting the cheese just for an extra little zip. Will use this recipe as my GO TO recipe for mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My go to mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States