Down Home Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Creamy goodness, absolutely delicious, outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I skip the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David DeVries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good altho I feel it lacked a bit of flavor. I added a handful of sharp cheddar & that seemed to do the trick so I would just sub the cheddar w/sharp cheddar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is the same recipe I have been using for quite some time except mine uses Ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is the real deal mac and cheese. The part I struggle with each time I make it is (besides how it isn't the healthiest for you....is there doesn't seem to be enough pasta for the cheese sauce (almost like there is more cheese sauce than pasta). I wish I was like the other reviewer and just went with it but I did double the pasta. Taste is still the best...a little sticky but then I added some of the water from boiling my broccoli to it and it was not as sticky. My husband loved it, one child thought it was too cheese and the other child didn't eat as much because it is pretty filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I did use 2 cups of cooked shells, not elbow but it seemed to need more noodles or less sauce. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Most of the complaints I have seen regard blandness and pastiness. After reading a zillion reviews and making this for a few years, I think we have perfected it. Cheese and noodles don't have much flavor on their own, spices you add will make the difference. I add garlic powder, a dash of cayenne, and a few shakes of Tabasco sauce (enhances flavor) I have followed the advice of previous reviewers regarding whisking constantly. I also use a mix of milk and heavy cream which makes an even creamier sauce. More cheese is a must-and in place of the crackers I sprinkle more cheese on top. My father in law paid this the ultimate compliment by saying this macaroni and cheese tasted just like the kind his grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
All I can say is WOW!! This is exactly the mac and cheese that I've been craving! I followed Butterfly Flutterby's modifications and ended up with delicious pasta. I will be making this again, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Awesome my family's favorite by far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bender-Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Amazing. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States