Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I like this recipe. I do similiar but for 20 lbs, I parboil twice, draining after each boil. Then in a large pot, cover chitlins with water, add 2 chicken bouillion cubes, 1/2 cup white vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes to taste, and Adobo All-Purpose Seasoning With Pepper to taste. I've never added onions but will try it next time. Mother added a potato to her chitlins to cut grease. Also, the Sylvia Robinson recipe says to soak overnight in salt water to cut grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nubiangrits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Great recipe...just like mom use to make...The recipe is great the way it is written..no need to add potatoes, they take away from the taste of the chitterlings. I prepared it over the holidays and had meatless spaghetti, cole slaw, and cornbread..Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Now you're talking! Finally a recipe that a lot of people in the South truly love. This recipe is great! When I cook mine, I cleaned them multiple times and then I cut them in small pieces before I boil them. Then, for a more robust flavor, after about an hour of cooking, I add beer, potatoes, onions and hot sauce or red pepper sauce to it. After they cook down, they will be very tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a very easy recipe to follow and my fiance' really enjoyed his meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the perfect recipe. Don't forget the hot sauce. I clean and cook at least 30 lbs. Just make sure you cook them until they are tender. If you clean them correctly, there's no need to par boil, you take away the flavor. Another tip, you can purchase cleaned chitterlins, 5 lb. bags each. They may need to be split open. I still check to make sure they are fully cleaned. Saves a lot of time, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS ROCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
i made this for thanksgiving and my family just could not stop talking about how good it was and how it was the best they have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my favorite chitts recipe from reading the narrative. I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and would like to suggest what tastes best for my family. They prefer only a small amount of onion, not a whole onion; cleaning well is the first step, but it is not necessary to pour off the water several times once the chitts begin to cook; once is enough. Finally, for seasonings the tried and true salt, a little red pepper and maybe white pepper, and a small amount (very small) amount of vinegar...1 teaspoon will do. In terms of the smell; the true chittlin lover absolutely loves the smell of chitts cooking. That is part and parcel of the enjoyment. So, try them; experiment with flavors, but just give me salt, red pepper and a touch of vinegar...that will do. And, please cook them for more than 4 hours. It is not a matter of tenderness; it is a matter of doneness. Cook them from 8 to 12 hours and they will be tender...and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvocadoLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love them mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I follow this recipe, but add about 3 whole cloves to 10 lbs. It does not taste like cloves, it just enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST AND EASIEST RECIPE I'VE SEEN!. JUST TRIED IT......LOVED IT, AND WILL DEFINITELY SAVE IT! HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Cotton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States