Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I am very surprised to see a recipe for chitterlings..it is true this is like a southern delicacy..lol..this recipe is good, however, I also add bellpeppers, seasoned salt, preferable Lawry's, and chopped jalapenos..and if you ever cook chitterlings you'll know they're not the most pleasant thing to smell..My remedy for that is to also add potatoes as it cuts down on the smell..Very good you must have it with hot sauce or you're just not eating it right..Thanks for submitting this recipe..it's good to know that someone else appreciates a good southern cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPRINGLE2U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Great recipe...just like mom use to make...The recipe is great the way it is written..no need to add potatoes, they take away from the taste of the chitterlings. I prepared it over the holidays and had meatless spaghetti, cole slaw, and cornbread..Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
No way this will feed 12 people. This recipe is tried and true. I have been using the same recipe for years. For the naysayers, just try them before you knock them. You may be surprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This recipe is fine, but I would bring to a boil, drain, add water again, and then add your onions, red pepper, and garlic. If you don't do this, you will have fat on top to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
494 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Now you're talking! Finally a recipe that a lot of people in the South truly love. This recipe is great! When I cook mine, I cleaned them multiple times and then I cut them in small pieces before I boil them. Then, for a more robust flavor, after about an hour of cooking, I add beer, potatoes, onions and hot sauce or red pepper sauce to it. After they cook down, they will be very tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
To feed 12 people, you need closer to 20 pound of chitterlings! You may want to add salt AFTER your chitterlings have cooked down a bit. They may become too salty otherwise. I use Creole seasoning instead of salt and pepper along with extra garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I like this recipe. I do similiar but for 20 lbs, I parboil twice, draining after each boil. Then in a large pot, cover chitlins with water, add 2 chicken bouillion cubes, 1/2 cup white vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes to taste, and Adobo All-Purpose Seasoning With Pepper to taste. I've never added onions but will try it next time. Mother added a potato to her chitlins to cut grease. Also, the Sylvia Robinson recipe says to soak overnight in salt water to cut grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nubiangrits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a very easy recipe to follow and my fiance' really enjoyed his meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
chitlins themselves are wonderful i cleaned some last night and am cooking them NOW!but 10 pounds of chitlins is not enough for 10 people because the shrink really bad when you cook them,so to feed 10 people you will need 20 lbs cleaned chitlins.and in GA after we boil them we put them in spider(skillet)with a little grease and fry them and that believe it our not draws some of the grease out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Axson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the perfect recipe. Don't forget the hot sauce. I clean and cook at least 30 lbs. Just make sure you cook them until they are tender. If you clean them correctly, there's no need to par boil, you take away the flavor. Another tip, you can purchase cleaned chitterlins, 5 lb. bags each. They may need to be split open. I still check to make sure they are fully cleaned. Saves a lot of time, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS ROCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States