Down Home Chitterlings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
There are some things in life that demand attention from the point of tradition, chitterlings a.k.a. “chittlins” is one of them. This dish is not for the lazy kitchen cook, (and you know who you are) it can take more than a full day to clean, prepare and cook chitterlings correctly especially if they are fresh. There are two rules that must be adhered to up front: 1. If your chitterlings stink before and during the cleaning process they are fresh! 2. If your chitterlings continue to stink while cooking, they are not clean enough! Two soakings in cold water does not cut it, for chitterlings to be clean they should be almost as transparent as a wet paper towel when held up to the light. Use vinegar and plenty of it during the entire process of cooking chitterlings, remember these are the intestines of an animal as to minimize the potential of contamination of your chitterlings all caution must be observed. Keep your hands clean during the process, (recommend you cut your fingernails short as well). Chitterlings like greens; make water…..do not fill the pot up to the brink with water less you will have a pot that will overflow on the stove for sure. Depending on the number of pounds you’re preparing, the pot need not be more than a quarter ways filled with water. Remember also that chitterlings cook down, so the weight before cooking will dramatically be reduced after they cook. (15lbs of chitterlings cooks down to about 7lbs). Now comes the seasoning of the water: 1 Onio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
622 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
i made this for thanksgiving and my family just could not stop talking about how good it was and how it was the best they have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the perfect recipe. Don't forget the hot sauce. I clean and cook at least 30 lbs. Just make sure you cook them until they are tender. If you clean them correctly, there's no need to par boil, you take away the flavor. Another tip, you can purchase cleaned chitterlins, 5 lb. bags each. They may need to be split open. I still check to make sure they are fully cleaned. Saves a lot of time, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS ROCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
chitlins themselves are wonderful i cleaned some last night and am cooking them NOW!but 10 pounds of chitlins is not enough for 10 people because the shrink really bad when you cook them,so to feed 10 people you will need 20 lbs cleaned chitlins.and in GA after we boil them we put them in spider(skillet)with a little grease and fry them and that believe it our not draws some of the grease out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Axson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a very easy recipe to follow and my fiance' really enjoyed his meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I like this recipe. I do similiar but for 20 lbs, I parboil twice, draining after each boil. Then in a large pot, cover chitlins with water, add 2 chicken bouillion cubes, 1/2 cup white vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes to taste, and Adobo All-Purpose Seasoning With Pepper to taste. I've never added onions but will try it next time. Mother added a potato to her chitlins to cut grease. Also, the Sylvia Robinson recipe says to soak overnight in salt water to cut grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nubiangrits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
To feed 12 people, you need closer to 20 pound of chitterlings! You may want to add salt AFTER your chitterlings have cooked down a bit. They may become too salty otherwise. I use Creole seasoning instead of salt and pepper along with extra garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Now you're talking! Finally a recipe that a lot of people in the South truly love. This recipe is great! When I cook mine, I cleaned them multiple times and then I cut them in small pieces before I boil them. Then, for a more robust flavor, after about an hour of cooking, I add beer, potatoes, onions and hot sauce or red pepper sauce to it. After they cook down, they will be very tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This recipe is fine, but I would bring to a boil, drain, add water again, and then add your onions, red pepper, and garlic. If you don't do this, you will have fat on top to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
No way this will feed 12 people. This recipe is tried and true. I have been using the same recipe for years. For the naysayers, just try them before you knock them. You may be surprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States