Down Home Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe is the closest to mine I've ever seen. I make just a few changes. I use marjoram instead of thyme, garlic powder, seasoned salt, and pepper to season about 4 c flour and also dip the chicken in an egg wash before dredging in the seasoned flour. The bacon fat is essential, IMHO, to the very best fried chicken. This recipe was my mother's, and my family would eat it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fran Lund-Overcash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I think the temp is a little off on this recipe. I would set it just a tad lower next time since my chicken got a little darker than I like. Otherwise, great flavor, the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I am so sorry but I was just not impressed with this chicken. It was okay, but I thought it was very bland, so did my hubby. It was also kind of greasy. I checked my oil temp and it was fine so don't know what the problem was, Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Far superior to the fried chicken recipes I tried before. I substituted boneless skinless chicken breasts since we buy them frozen in 3lb bags and always have them on hand. Added a bit more cayenne since my husband usually complains the fried chicken recipes are "bland" and it came out nicely. cut them into stips to make chicken "fingers" and served with french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I prepared this recipe as directed. I was disappointed at the outcome and my family was less than impressed. I will not be making this anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe. I did not have shortening on hand, so used corn oil with the bacon grease---my husband raved over the taste!! We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very, VERY good. Came out a lot like fried chicken, just baked in the oven. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
The taste is a five, but next time we will do things a bit differently. First, using a whole chicken made it harder to cook through without burning. Next time, we will cut it up into small pieces like chicken nuggets. Second, there wasn't nearly enough cayenne. Next time, we'll double it at least! This recipe takes time if you have a small skillet, so you better be a fried chicken lover to spend the hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This is a fairly simple recipie that tastes "great"! It is the best southern fried chicken recipie I have cooked. My entire family loved it, thank you. Mark Goins North Carolina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Bend, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I made this chicken on the 4th of July for the first time, it turned out great everyone loved it. thanks for the great new way to add flavor to my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States