Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I have made this many times, and my friends and family all absolutely love it. However - one change I make - when adding all the veggies & meat to the bacon grease, also add appx 1 cup of water. Cover & simmer for about 20-30 minutes, then drain water, add bacon, and serve. This ensures the potatoes & other veggies will fully cook. This dish is an all-time favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This was ok but I thought it was on the bland side. I did not like the texture of the bacon in this dish. I thought the potato slices were akward since everything else was chopped I should of cut them into small cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I make this at least once a month. It's delicious, super fast, and adapts well to almost any combo of vegetables on hand. Don't skip the sausage-on-top step -- it's the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This was fantastic! Thanks to reviewer "kim in NY," I cooked the potatoes for approx 10min in the microwave before adding them to the skillet. Also, I used a little more bacon and seasoned it all with some garlic and onion powder. Very tasty meal! We loved it and wanted more when it was all gone! Some of us sprinkled a little cheese over our bowl but was good without it too! Will make this again! Thanks Lillian and your creative mother!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I thought this would be bland but I was wrong!! I used precooked bacon cut into bits, frozen brocolli, and smoked sauage. We like the flavor of smoked sauage better. I put all the veggies in a glass pan with a lid and baked in the oven at 350 for 1 hr. Then I added the sausage to the top and baked another hour. Next time I will add the brocolli after the first hour but all in all the flavor was wonderful. I'm sure it would be great on the stove if you slice the potatoes very thin like the recipe says. I cut mine into half inch thick slices. Didn't even need butter and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
My family loved this dish! However, I think the potatoes should be cooked first because they take more than 10 minutes. So place them first in a skillet and allow them to cook a while, then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Brussel Sprouts cut in half and sauteed is also a good option instead of the brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Oh My! Decadent! Wonderful! I can forget the fat content for the night. I made it as written excepts I followed other people's lead and cooked the potato's a bit before putting them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This was a hit with my picky hubby! I love to try new recipes, but he rarely asks me to make things again. I have made this several times since the first try, and we NEVER have leftovers. I pre-cook the potatoes (6 of them instead of 4) for about 10 minutes in the microwave while chopping the rest of the vegetables. It turns out perfect, everytime!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This was not very good and had astrange flavor I would not try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States