Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I made this for lunch today and I think it is pretty good. My kids (4 and 2) are not eating it, but I will feed it to hubby when he gets home tonight. I used Beef Smoked Sausage,6 small potatoes, 1/4 of an onion, and 1 small head of broccoli because that is what I had on hand. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added 1 cup of water. I think next time I would only use about 1/2 cup of water and will make sure to use the rest of the ingredients as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I thought this would be bland but I was wrong!! I used precooked bacon cut into bits, frozen brocolli, and smoked sauage. We like the flavor of smoked sauage better. I put all the veggies in a glass pan with a lid and baked in the oven at 350 for 1 hr. Then I added the sausage to the top and baked another hour. Next time I will add the brocolli after the first hour but all in all the flavor was wonderful. I'm sure it would be great on the stove if you slice the potatoes very thin like the recipe says. I cut mine into half inch thick slices. Didn't even need butter and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I have made this many times, and my friends and family all absolutely love it. However - one change I make - when adding all the veggies & meat to the bacon grease, also add appx 1 cup of water. Cover & simmer for about 20-30 minutes, then drain water, add bacon, and serve. This ensures the potatoes & other veggies will fully cook. This dish is an all-time favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Good Recipe! I read the reviews and I did start cooking the potatoes while I was cutting up everything else. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This was a hit with my picky hubby! I love to try new recipes, but he rarely asks me to make things again. I have made this several times since the first try, and we NEVER have leftovers. I pre-cook the potatoes (6 of them instead of 4) for about 10 minutes in the microwave while chopping the rest of the vegetables. It turns out perfect, everytime!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This was fantastic! Thanks to reviewer "kim in NY," I cooked the potatoes for approx 10min in the microwave before adding them to the skillet. Also, I used a little more bacon and seasoned it all with some garlic and onion powder. Very tasty meal! We loved it and wanted more when it was all gone! Some of us sprinkled a little cheese over our bowl but was good without it too! Will make this again! Thanks Lillian and your creative mother!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This recipe was great, my family loved it. If you like kielbase and cabbage or fried cabbage this is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Pretty good stuff. I pre-cooked the potatoes a bit in the microwave and cubed them, and I left out the celery (had none). It made a good hearty supper, and the broccoli and carrots made it very colorful and appealing on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
My family loved this dish! However, I think the potatoes should be cooked first because they take more than 10 minutes. So place them first in a skillet and allow them to cook a while, then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
My family thought this was great. They made sure that this was added to the weekly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States