Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Thank you for this delicious recipe. Everyone liked this one--even the picky grandkids. I did make a few changes: I used 1/2 head cabbage instead of broccoli; six mild italian sausages instead of Keilbasa; added one garlic clove and two thinly sliced carrots. I served this over brown rice and it was delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This dish was soooo easy to make and my family loved it. Even my kids who are 5,9 & 10. I used red potatoes and left the peel on. I put them in the microwave for 5 min. and then sliced them for the the dish. I only had carrots, red onion and broccoli on hand. I put some lemon pepper and a few dabs of butter on at the end and let it melt over the meat and veggies. I served it with bread sticks. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is so tasty, the only change I made was cutting the potatoes a little thicker, that way they are not too soft when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was a great recipe. Mine came out a little dry because hubby was running late. Other than that, I used the cabbage and shredded in place of the broccoli and it was terrific! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Yum, this was really good, we made some small changes, used a full package of bacon, sauteed 2 cloves of fresh garlic in with the bacon grease, used 2 lbs of kielbasa, and added garlic pepper, onion powder along with other ingrediants, it was delicious, DH said definately a keeper. Thank your Mom for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I had a heart attack just reading the recipe! I am giving 4 instead of 5 factoring in the years I just took off my life. My Suggestion: Drain the fat and then add the crumbled bacon. Delicious Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used turkey bacon and turkey kielbasa to cut the fat and didn't cut out any flavor at all, my husband thought the bacon was real and "quality" before I told him it was turkey. I added some olive oil after the bacon cooked since there wasn't any grease, tasted great. This was super easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Brussel Sprouts cut in half and sauteed is also a good option instead of the brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
this is very good also with cabbage sliced up in place of brocolli , add some season salt, also good with tomatoes and zucchini sliced into mixture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Also really good with sauteed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States