Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is another time when I would like to have a half star rating - the dish was really good but not quite a 5, so 4 1/2 stars. A lot of chopping is involved, but it's worth it. I followed the recipe as is but next time (and there will be), I will add a few red pepper flakes and cheese on top to serve. It's a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Thank you for this delicious recipe. Everyone liked this one--even the picky grandkids. I did make a few changes: I used 1/2 head cabbage instead of broccoli; six mild italian sausages instead of Keilbasa; added one garlic clove and two thinly sliced carrots. I served this over brown rice and it was delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This dish was soooo easy to make and my family loved it. Even my kids who are 5,9 & 10. I used red potatoes and left the peel on. I put them in the microwave for 5 min. and then sliced them for the the dish. I only had carrots, red onion and broccoli on hand. I put some lemon pepper and a few dabs of butter on at the end and let it melt over the meat and veggies. I served it with bread sticks. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is so tasty, the only change I made was cutting the potatoes a little thicker, that way they are not too soft when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was a great recipe. Mine came out a little dry because hubby was running late. Other than that, I used the cabbage and shredded in place of the broccoli and it was terrific! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Yum, this was really good, we made some small changes, used a full package of bacon, sauteed 2 cloves of fresh garlic in with the bacon grease, used 2 lbs of kielbasa, and added garlic pepper, onion powder along with other ingrediants, it was delicious, DH said definately a keeper. Thank your Mom for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I had a heart attack just reading the recipe! I am giving 4 instead of 5 factoring in the years I just took off my life. My Suggestion: Drain the fat and then add the crumbled bacon. Delicious Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I used turkey bacon and turkey kielbasa to cut the fat and didn't cut out any flavor at all, my husband thought the bacon was real and "quality" before I told him it was turkey. I added some olive oil after the bacon cooked since there wasn't any grease, tasted great. This was super easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Brussel Sprouts cut in half and sauteed is also a good option instead of the brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
this is very good also with cabbage sliced up in place of brocolli , add some season salt, also good with tomatoes and zucchini sliced into mixture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States