Down Home Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
this was delicious and I don't care for kielbasa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
we loved this, and easy!! wow. I love polska kielbasa and all sausages...just a wonderful new way to experience them as a whole meal deal. was looking for something for a polish hockey player to eat...stumbled on this...and we all love it. Make also with whatever veggies are on hand (i forgot the brocolli)...used more bacon (yum)...so easy to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I try to make it at least once a month. My boys love the veggies with the added bacon flavor. We never have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
very tasty! flavor wise this recipe deserves 5 stars; nutrition wise it deserves 2 stars. we did enjoy the nice variety of vegetables in the casserole. this isn't a dish to make all the time, just once in a while. many thanks for your mother's recipe, lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I made this for a potluck breakfast wedding shower for my former boss and everyone loved it. The combination of meats and vegetables made it flavorful, and colorful. I enjoyed it a lot... If only bacon grease were healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Lillian, I hope you live another 86 years! And, tell your daughter to submit more of your recipes! This was truly wonderful. I didn't have any celery and only had Smoked Turkey Sausage, but even with those changes, this dish was very very good! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Following another poster's advice, I used pre-cooked bacon to try to cut down on the fat. However, cooking the veggies in olive oil made the whole dish come out pretty tasteless. Next time I will fry the bacon in the pan and then fry the veggies in the bacon fat, as the recipe states. But I think this can be a really tasty recipe . . . . just make sure to follow the original recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was excellent...even my fussy family enjoyed this recipe and asked me to make it again. I omitted the bacon and cooked in olive oil. I served it with fresh bread. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I thought it was all right, but I wouldn't make it again. It really didn't stand out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Great recipe! Thank you to you and your mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States