Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This is a very simple, yet good recipe. I have been looking for a recipe close to the one my Aunt used to make (she passed away from that "horrible" breast cancer disease), and this was by far the closest. Although, I'm not sure why you would use baked beans to make baked beans...(was it supposed to be pork & beans....which I did use) anyway I used turkey bacon and they came out good. Thanks meanjeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Well I made this recipe for Memorial day and everyone liked it. What I did was cut some of the brown sugar because I used Bushes Baked beans and since I live in New Mexico I used a local red chili sauce for an extra kick this seemed to help balance the sweet and the spicy but this is a good simple and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAUGHTEROFMIST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
this was a great recipe - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Great tasting and easy recipe! I made these for a picnic and received rave reviews. Later that week I made baked beans from scratch. After spending all day cooking them they were still firm and tasted bitter. I will use only this recipe in the future. A quick sure fire hit! JC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I get rave reviews every time I make this. Everyone loves it! I used Bush's BBQ Baked Beans. The only thing I did differently was add a little mustard to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I made this for the first time and everybody loved it!! Just a note: better make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
The most delicious baked beans we've had and SO SIMPLE! My hubby even said "These are better than my Mom's". WOW and I about fell out of the dining room chair! He even asked what was in them, which he usually never asks unless it's REALLY GOOD! Of course, I told him it was a "secret" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
EXCELLENT. Everyone loves these baked beans! Takes a little time to fry up the bacon...but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Very good! I made in the crock pot and only used 1 cup of brown sugar and a little less chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
What a hit these beans were! I used a yellow onion and half the brown sugar, and they were plenty sweet. I also used a crock pot - worked great. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States