Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
these are AWESOME!! I did follow the suggestion of decreasing the Brown sugar. I used a very healthy 1 cup of dark brown sugar. They are YUMMY!! My husband and I did laugh about them being a heart attack in a dish (1 lb of bacon). Will totally make them many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I love baked beans this recipe is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sigmasuperstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Everyone raved over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Fantastic sweet & spicy flavor! Instead of Hot Chili Sauce, I used "Mild Sweet Chili Sauce" by Taste of Asia. I found this brand in the Asian section of the grocery store where all the stir fry sauces are. I only used half of a 10 oz bottle - anymore would be too much. To ensure they were thick and not soupy, I drained one can of beans but left the 2nd can as-is. I also used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and sauteed the onion. I cooked in the crockpot on high for about 2 - 2.5 hours. e and cooked on high in the crockpot for 2 hours. Fabulous - my husband said they came out better than his moms southern recipe - a true compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Margarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Omg, I made these for Father's Day! They were so good, I couldn't stop eating them. I only put in half the bottle of hot sauce and they still had a good spice. Excellent recipe, I will make these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I get raves about this recipe. I like to saute the onions a little in a small amount of the bacon grease before mixing them with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! I decreased the brown sugar to 1 cup per some reviews and I will use 3/4 cup next time. An easy way to cook bacon - put the bacon in the freezer for about 5 minutes, slice it up and toss it in the pan with the diced onion. It will come apart when cooking. I still drain it on paper towels to get rid of the excess grease. This will definitely be a repeat recipe this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! Seemed like a lot of bacon (one pound) but came out perfect. Did cut back the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and used Bush's baked beans - chili sauce was wonderful addition! Thanks again and will be #1 baked beans recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These were a HUGE hit with my family and friends. I did doctor them a little based on reviews. I drained one can of Bush's original baked beans, the other can we just added to the bowl. I used two small yellow onions, made sure to cut up the bacon in chunks instead of crumbled it, and we only used 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar instead of two. We could probably go down to 1 cup, because it was sweet. The chili sauce gave it a very nice touch. Overall this recipe was great and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We ended up loving these. Added just 1 cup of sugar tho. They seemed to taste better Day 2. The chili sauce adds a zesty interesting touch. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States