Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These beans are great! The only change you need to make is only add 1/2 cup of brown sugar and then they would for sure be five stars thank you for the easy recipe made them in my crockpot on low for two to three hours and they made the house smell great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This has been a family staple for years!! There are never any leftovers and I always get recipe requests. I first saw this recipe from Taste of Home years ago. Like the other reviews stated it's definitely better with less brown sugar, about 1/2 to 1 c instead. Drain the beans, I even rinse them too. I include about 1/4 c. of the bacon drippings for an extra naughty home cooked taste! Also, I add about 1/4 tsp of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I loved these! THey were just what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was add a pound of ground beef. I like the addition of the ground beef to the beans and it took care of the issue of the beans being too soupy. I baked it in the oven covered for an hour and uncovered for an additional hour to reduce the amount of liquid even further. May reduce the amount of bacon next time. There will be a next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Yummy! I took these to a neighbors picnic and they got rave reviews (an old lady tried to take me home she loved them so much). I didn't have the chili sauce so I used some BBQ sauce and hot sauce, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Yummmmmm! I bring this to pot luck barbecues in the summer and I never get to bring left-overs home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I noted the reviews with recommendations to use less brown sugar and here are the proportions I used: 1/4 pound ground beef, 1/2 medium onion, (browned together), 1/3 cup chili sauce, 1/4 cup molasses, 1 heaping Tblsp brown sugar and 1 15 oz can pork and beans (drained, although I did add some liquid back in after it was all mixed together.) I served the beans as a topper for a garlic baked potato. Made my kitchen smell great while it was in the oven - I'll be fixing these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are excellent! I brought them to a friends BBQ and people raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a great quick meal! I also only used 3 TBSP of brown sugar & added kielbasa.Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
OK baked beans. When I told my bf how they were prepared, he was confused. He didn't see the point in using a can of "baked beans" to make "baked beans". I get his point. For all of the prep (minimal, but still a time commitment involved), I would have preferred a can of Busch's. Good, but not WOW! I won't be making these again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States