Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is one of the easiest bean recipes and everyone raved about them. I make these for almost every party. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These beans are great. the Chili Sause is the key. as others stated i halved the sugar, 1 cup is more than enough. i would chop the onions as small as you can and throw them in right before you take out the bacon esp if you're making it for a large group, hide them from picky eaters. but don't be afraid to use a whole onion. Also this recipe is good in the oven or crock pot. I've made this recipe for many functions up to 50 people. it multiples wonderfully and everyone wants this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miah's My Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
YUM!!!I used this recipe, but doubled it because I was taking the dish to a cookout. I did however use half the amount of brown sugar. I have received emails and phone calls from people at the cookout telling me how delicious the beans were. I was also told that this would now be my assigned dish to bring whenever there was a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
WOW WOW WOW is all I can say these were wonderful rich tasting great flavor and a bit spicey! I only used 1 cup of brown sugar because I used Bush's baked beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These are absolutely wonderful! I took the suggestions of others and only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Other additions I made were: I only used about 3/4 of the bottle of chili sauce and then I added about 1 T of mustard, 1 tsp liquid smoke and a few dashes of worcestershire. I also used Bush's original baked beans and drained them before adding. I will use this recipe often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Used Splenda Brown Sugar to make this healtier. Worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is a must at any summer cookout. All of our friends/family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love this simple dish. I took the bake beans to our annual high school picnic and everyone love it. The bits of crunchy bacon was awesome. I took members advice and use 1 cup of brown sugar. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I made these for a crowd of 20 people. They all raved about them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
these are AWESOME!! I did follow the suggestion of decreasing the Brown sugar. I used a very healthy 1 cup of dark brown sugar. They are YUMMY!! My husband and I did laugh about them being a heart attack in a dish (1 lb of bacon). Will totally make them many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States