Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent! Love it and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Added some ground beef & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made this for a bar b que and it was a huge hit! I used the canned Busch baked beans with bourbon and brown sugar and like one of the reviewers suggested I sauteed the onions in the bacon grease after cooking the bacon. So good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These bake beans were really good. I followed the advice of the other fellow members and cut the sugar back to just one cup I can't imagine it with more than that. I think the chilli sauce really took this beans over the top. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
outstanding recipe! I had a graduation block party over the weekend with 150+ people, so I multiplied the recipe by 8 to use 4 of the large Bush Baked Beans cans. Used many of the suggestions found here (ie drained all the cans first, used half the sugar, cooked onions in bacon grease first, bake beans 2 times). Given that it was such a large amount I almost chickened out due to having to cook so much bacon but ended up cooking it in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes then used scissors to cut the strips into small pieces. I personally do not enjoy baked beans but I have never received so many compliments on a recipe. They were the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. To improve it just a little, put a small can of crushed pineapple in it. No one can figure out what it is, but everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I just made this for my daughter's first birthday bbq and it was amazing!! It was so quick and easy and tasted like I had been cooking all day. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup like some of the others suggested. I also put mine in the crock pot on low for 3 hours. They turned out perfect! This will definitely be my go to recipe for bbq's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Totally easy to make and I would definitely make again for the common crowd. I'm still on the search for something spicier...but this is definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
HONEY, HUSH!!! These taste just like the ones I grew up eating at church socials and community fish fries, and the Heinz chili sauce is definitely key. The only change I made was to add ground mustard (adding prepared mustard would make them too soupy). You do need to bake this longer than recommended in order for it to firm up like it should. Other reviewers have said to use less sugar - if you're serving this to Southerners and you want it to taste authentic, stick with the recipes recommended two cups of sugar. Served this to guests at two different large cookouts last night & the night before - rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These baked beans are AMAZING. We had a BBQ dinner and served these baked beans along with Southern Pulled Pork (also from this site...and highly recommend as well). The dinner was fabulous and everybody went back for seconds on the beans. After reading reviewer comments, the problem with the "soupy" beans is because most people used Bush's Baked Beans. Although Bush's Baked Beans are great on their own directly from the can, the consistency of Bush's is already semi-soupy, (which is why some reviewers “drained” their beans first) so by adding all the ingredients listed, your end result is very soupy. Also Bush's beans are already flavored so by adding the sugar called for in the recipe makes for a really sweet bean recipe. To avoid all this, you need to use Grandma Browns Baked Beans for the beans called for in this recipe. Grandma Browns Beans are VERY thick (you need a spoon to get them out of the can) and are generally not sweet on their own. Then following the recipe exactly as stated, the beans turned out perfectly! Oh – I did add a good squirt of yellow mustard, but that is the only change I made. I thought a pound of bacon was going to be too much, but it really was not - the recipe is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States