Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Good. My 1st time making beans. Used small can pork n beans & small can lite kidneys, halved other ingredients. Drained beans first. Added a squirt of mustard too. Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I double the recipe for pot luck. I don't use brown sugar, use Karo Dark 1/2 cup. Equal parts Chili sauce & 3 Alarm BBQ sauce with 2 shots of Jack Daniels. Sautee onions & Red pepper for 15 minutes...reserve 1/2 the onion/pepper and sautee until onions are a bit brown (adds a nicee texture). Use drained Bushes' beans, black beans, and black-eyed peas. Sprinkle top with bacon bits,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yep! These were great! I followed other reviewer's advice and reduced the sugar, drained the beans, (Bushes), and added a squirt of yellow mustard. I had to increase the servings to 20 for Easter Sunday brunch so the cook time was about 2 hours. Everyone LOVED the beans, went great with ham and potato salad! Thanks for sharing! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
OK - I do not care for these as they are too sweet for my taste. But...all of the neighbors loved um as did my husband! Since I was outnumbered, I gave them five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Photo by AEONFLUX729
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These beans were spicy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEONFLUX729

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I didn't give it five stars simply because it was too sweet. It had a good taste but next time I will cut the sugar in half. I would still recommend this recipe to anyone, someone else might like them this sweet but it was too much for me personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sindarella32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this recipe for a family reunion a few weeks ago. I'm really picky about my baked beans, and do not like them straight from a can! This recipe was perfect. Since the canned beans that I used said that they had brown sugar in them, I did decrease the brown sugar to about 1 1/4 cup. I used Heinz chili sauce. I had NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These are so good! Every time I make them, people say they are the best baked beans they have ever had! Try them, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a very good, easy bean dish. I made it exactly as is, only reduced the brown suger just for our tastes. It was very well received, and the teenagers just loved it! Thanks for a new favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Love these beans! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States