Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent! Followed directions exactly the first time, wouldn't change a thing. The second time, after cooking bacon, onions, I put it all in the crock pot for a few hours on low and it was just as delicious! I used canned pork and beans from Sams as they are not flavored like many of the other baked beans that already have sugar, bbq and spices mixed in. The sugar and chili sauce made an excellent flavor combination. I make double recipe and always take to events as my contribution and get rave reviews. Update: This time I sauteed the onions in the bacon grease as a couple people didn't like visible onions. Turned out awesome. A never fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
People said too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now; for Memorial Day and for the 4th of July (because everyone who had it at Memorial Day requested that I bring it again)! I use the original flavor Bush's Baked Beans. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup, which still makes it plenty sweet because they are already flavored with brown sugar. The first time I made them, I only used a small onion because I am not a big onion fan, but with the amount of the other ingredients, the onion got washed out. So the second time, I used an entire large onion and that was much better. For those saying their beans turned out to soupy, I think maybe you just didn't bake them long enough. I baked my beans for 1 hr 15 minutes the first time and 1 hr 30 minutes the second time, and they turned out great the first time and even better the second. Not soupy at all. I will probably have to make these for every family holiday or cookout from now on. And by the way, the chili sauce is a great touch, but it doesn't really make them "spicy" the way I would have thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this recipe twice now. First time was best, although a little sweet. This time I followed other folks that said to cut back on sugar, so I only used 1 cup of brown sugar. Also, this time I chose the Original Bush baked beans (vs. Bush Home- and Country style). The beans came out ok, but no wow factor and definitely not sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Awesome baked beans! I used pork n beans. It was a bit soupy out of the oven but thickened up some as it sat. Very sweet, like southern baked beans should be. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This a terrific recipe!!!!!!! I accidently used Sciracha??? Chinese Hot Sauce before I realized the recipe called for Heinz Chili Sauce. We loved it so much that the second time I used the Sciracha sauce AND some Chili Sauce. Sometimes mistakes are right on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danica Hicks
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These were good but a bit too Sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I used Bush's Original Baked Beans and as others recommended, I drained the beans well. I fried up the bacon in a large pot, then added the onion. When the onion was nice and soft, I drained off most of the fat and then added the beans and chili sauce. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup yellow mustard and 1/4 cup worcestershire sauce, which really gave it that extra kick. I did not add in any brown sugar. I covered the pot and simmered on the stove top for about 3 hours. It did not come out soupy at all. It was nice and thick. I quadrupled the recipe for a party of 40 people and there were no left-overs. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'll give this a 5-star rating. Perhaps there are even better baked beans dishes out there, but I enjoyed this a lot, and gobbled it all down by myself over four days. I made it almost exactly as written, using just over a pound of applewood-smoked thick-sliced bacon. I baked the dish for only 45 minutes, figuring that the extra 15 minutes wouldn't make much difference. This isn't very healthy, but it is very tasty - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
excellent, with some adjustments for personal taste, the best recipe for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States