Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Yummy! I took these to a neighbors picnic and they got rave reviews (an old lady tried to take me home she loved them so much). I didn't have the chili sauce so I used some BBQ sauce and hot sauce, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Yummmmmm! I bring this to pot luck barbecues in the summer and I never get to bring left-overs home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I noted the reviews with recommendations to use less brown sugar and here are the proportions I used: 1/4 pound ground beef, 1/2 medium onion, (browned together), 1/3 cup chili sauce, 1/4 cup molasses, 1 heaping Tblsp brown sugar and 1 15 oz can pork and beans (drained, although I did add some liquid back in after it was all mixed together.) I served the beans as a topper for a garlic baked potato. Made my kitchen smell great while it was in the oven - I'll be fixing these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are excellent! I brought them to a friends BBQ and people raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a great quick meal! I also only used 3 TBSP of brown sugar & added kielbasa.Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
OK baked beans. When I told my bf how they were prepared, he was confused. He didn't see the point in using a can of "baked beans" to make "baked beans". I get his point. For all of the prep (minimal, but still a time commitment involved), I would have preferred a can of Busch's. Good, but not WOW! I won't be making these again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I had to doctor these up some to suit our taste. I drained the beans as my first batch turned out too runny. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup as we don't like them sweet and added hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This could be a four or five star recipe if the brown sugar was cut WAY down! It was almost to sweet to eat! It has the makings of a great recipe with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I have made it for several group occasions and have always been asked for the secret! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States