Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I also made this exactly as the recipe said, with Bush's Baked Beans. It is indeed a bit sweet, which the kids loved! For a mostly adult crowd, I'd probably use 1/2 - 3/4 cup brown suger instead of 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is the only baked bean recipe I make anymore. It always gets raves. As others have said, 1/2 to 1 cup of brown sugar is plenty. I always cook my bacon first and then saute the chopped up onion in the bacon grease before adding to the beans. And I add a couple squirts of yellow mustard to give it a bit more tang. And I always use Bush's baked beans to start - they seem to be a bit smaller in size and all the kids in our extended family like them better. This dish is awesome to use with leftover chopped up brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The best thing about this recipe is the Chili Sauce - for this alone it deserves 5 stars! Chili Sauce adds a bit of bite, and makes this really special. For vegetarians or those avoiding pork, omit the bacon and use canned vegetarian beans - it will still taste delicious! I do have a problem with 2 cups of brown sugar - that's way, way too much for me; I start with Bush's Homestyle Baked Beans, which are already sweet, and add 2-4 tablespoons of brown sugar. I also think 1 cup of chili sauce is plenty. I saute the onion briefly, in a bit of bacon fat or canola oil. This is now our favorite baked bean dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Was the best beans I have had yet. I used pork and beans instead of regular baked beans. The pork and beans didn't have the brown sugar, so, when I added it, it all came out perfectly. I threw everything in a crock pot and just let it go for about 7 hours on low. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These are excellent beans. I also use Bush's Baked beans, cut the sugar in half and I added 2 tbsp. mustard and 1 tbsp. of Apple Cider Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These baked beans were awsome. I would recommend to drain your beans prior to cooking, as my beans were soupy yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Wonderful flavor, a little different from most other bean recipes I've tried. The one thing I will change when making it next time is to drain the two cans of baked beans. Mine came out very soupy. Luckily the great flavor made up for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
These were really delicious. I was out of bacon (and bacon pieces) so I just added some melted bacon grease. I cut the brown sugar down to about 75%. My regular recipe calls for mustard and worcestershire sauce, I might add this next time. By the way, I drained the beans and this dish was still plenty "soupy" enough that I had to serve with a slotted spoon. Everyone in my family liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
one bottle of chili sauce, yowza! we call 'em "fire beans". a favorite with the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhea
Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This is a very simple, yet good recipe. I have been looking for a recipe close to the one my Aunt used to make (she passed away from that "horrible" breast cancer disease), and this was by far the closest. Although, I'm not sure why you would use baked beans to make baked beans...(was it supposed to be pork & beans....which I did use) anyway I used turkey bacon and they came out good. Thanks meanjeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States