Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These are absolutely wonderful! I took the suggestions of others and only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Other additions I made were: I only used about 3/4 of the bottle of chili sauce and then I added about 1 T of mustard, 1 tsp liquid smoke and a few dashes of worcestershire. I also used Bush's original baked beans and drained them before adding. I will use this recipe often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Used Splenda Brown Sugar to make this healtier. Worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is a must at any summer cookout. All of our friends/family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love this simple dish. I took the bake beans to our annual high school picnic and everyone love it. The bits of crunchy bacon was awesome. I took members advice and use 1 cup of brown sugar. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I made these for a crowd of 20 people. They all raved about them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
these are AWESOME!! I did follow the suggestion of decreasing the Brown sugar. I used a very healthy 1 cup of dark brown sugar. They are YUMMY!! My husband and I did laugh about them being a heart attack in a dish (1 lb of bacon). Will totally make them many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I love baked beans this recipe is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sigmasuperstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Everyone raved over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Fantastic sweet & spicy flavor! Instead of Hot Chili Sauce, I used "Mild Sweet Chili Sauce" by Taste of Asia. I found this brand in the Asian section of the grocery store where all the stir fry sauces are. I only used half of a 10 oz bottle - anymore would be too much. To ensure they were thick and not soupy, I drained one can of beans but left the 2nd can as-is. I also used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and sauteed the onion. I cooked in the crockpot on high for about 2 - 2.5 hours. e and cooked on high in the crockpot for 2 hours. Fabulous - my husband said they came out better than his moms southern recipe - a true compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Margarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Omg, I made these for Father's Day! They were so good, I couldn't stop eating them. I only put in half the bottle of hot sauce and they still had a good spice. Excellent recipe, I will make these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States