Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are sooooo good. Made these yesterday for Easter. Everyone loved them. I only used 1 cup of brown sugar, anymore and I think it would have been too sweet. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Oh my goodness! I just made this for a family gathering and it is the best recipe for baked beans I've ever seen! Soooo many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe. Instead of using multiple pans, I cooked my bacon in a cast iron skillet. I did toss in the onions to saute for the last few minutes the bacon was cooking. After draining, I added everything else into the skillet, and just put the whole pan into the oven. I do prefer it with a bit of mustard, but that's simply a preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Love it and so easy! Have made this for several baked bean connoiseurs who proclaimed these their favorite. They have also won over my bean-hating husband. I do halve the brown sugar (never tried the full amount, but it's plenty sweet with half), and sautee the onions with the bacon, as we only like onions if they are soft. I love trying new recipes so much that I don't remake very many, but this is one that I will continue to make repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent! My family loved them! I used 1 28oz can of Bush's baked beans and 1 small can of pork and beans. I did drain both cans. I also used about half the brown sugar it called for. I cooked the bacon then cooked the onions in the bacon grease. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These are the best baked beans. We all loved them. I followed the recipe exactly. I made a double batch for a picnic. For home I will probably half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I came across this recipe and wrote down the ingredients and then somehow misplaced it so I ended up winging it. Now that I have once again come across the recipe I can see that I made a few changes. I used 2 cans of baked beans in tomatoe sauce (Ralphs brand). After cooking the bacon, I sauteed the onion in the left over bacon grease. In a crockpot I added the beans (undrained), 2 cups brown sugar, bottle of Ralphs brand chili sauce, drained bacon & sauteed onion. Cooked on high for a couple of hours. They were the absolute best and everyone has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I thought chili sauce in baked beans sounded terrible but my husband likes spicy things so I tried it. It wasn't too spicy at all and these are the best baked beans ever. I have since made them for a family gathering and a church pot luck. I came home with empty bowls both times. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is the second time that I have made these beans for a party and received great compliments both times. Easy and Delicious. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I cut down on the brown sugar as well. The crowd went wild for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States