Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I decreased the brown sugar down to 1 cup, but still think they are overly sweet. Next time I will make them with 1/2 cup. I also added 1 tsp. of allspice as I do in all of my baked bean recipes. I prepared these in my crock pot on low for 2 hours and then added some sliced beef hotdogs and let them cook another hour. My crock pot cooks rather hot on low and they were bubbling! Very good! UPDATE: I made these again today and used 1/2 c. brown sugar. I think you could easily get by with 1/4 c. but they were still really good! I added the allspice again and baked them in the oven. I will continue to make this recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My husband loves baked beans but agreed with me on this one - these are too sweet. I am going to try this recipe again but I will just add a small bit of brown sugar since the canned beans are really already sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe is a great start. I drain as much liquid out of the beans as possible and then cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and the bacon to 1/4 pound. Then throw in a some habanero pepper sauce to give it some really good kick. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was so yummy. i used maple tasting beans with Maple Leaf bacon . . . oh so good. I made this in twice in the first week I found this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I love this recipe! I always make a double batch, because they get eaten up so quickly and I can freeze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I really liked this recipe .... I used two large cans of Van De Camps baked beans with brown sugar .... so I only added a 1/4 cup of my own brown sugar ..... I took these beans to a party and brought home an empty crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow!!! These beans are amazing. Make them for every tailgate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
These were really fabulous beans! One of the easiest recipes I've ever made too. A little on the sweet side, but great nonetheless. I cooked these for double the time called for and they were just right. Thanks, I'll keep this recipe, we really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These were great! I followed others advice and used 1 cup of brown sugar, the beans were amazing! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a very good "traditional" baked bean recipe. Like other reviewers, I halved the brown sugar and thought that was just fine. These were a hit at our barbecue! Update 4/21/13 I have made these several times now, but I've decided to up my rating to 5 stars after this weekend's bbq. The difference this time is that I started with plain organic vegetarian baked beans and then added the other ingredients, using just 1 cup of brown sugar. They were excellently flavored without being overly sweet and syrupy or ketchupy like I feel Bush's beans are. One guest raved that they were the best baked beans she had ever tasted. I think next time I will make one more change and try just 10-12 oz. of bacon instead of a full pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States