Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This could be a four or five star recipe if the brown sugar was cut WAY down! It was almost to sweet to eat! It has the makings of a great recipe with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I have made it for several group occasions and have always been asked for the secret! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These beans are easy to prepare and delicious, too! I cut back on the brown sugar as suggested by other reviewers, and instead of baking them in the oven I put them in the slow cooker on low for three or four hours...I took the to an event I was going to, plugged them back in on the buffet table. There was not even one spoonful left at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchevyshortbox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These were definitely good. I followed other suggestions to drain the beans out of the can and mine came out a litte bit "gummy" after cooked -- next time I will not drain entirely. Everyone seemed to like them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
The key to great baked beans is cooking them twice....once the night before for a 1 1/2 hours and again for an hour right before serving. The double-cooking method makes them extra thick and really enhances the flavor. Make sure an add some chopped up green bell peppers, garlic and worcestershire sauce too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was an amazing recipe, I made these for the Fourth of July, and everyone had to have seconds. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
My 8 year old daughter prepared them for dinner last night. Taste just like resturant beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I found this recipe in the Taste of Home magazine a few years ago and I've made it numerous times since. I also drain the beans before mixing the ingredients as it is a little soupy if you don't. The recipe is very easy and everyone loves it...even those that don't like beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logandale, Nevada, USA
Living In: Marysvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These beans were really great. My husband liked them alot too. I havent tried them out on a big group yet, but I plan to take them to our next church dinner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
We made these for a 4th of July party. Everyone seemed to like them. I'm not big on baked beans but I liked them and even had seconds. As other posters had recommended, we reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. It seemed to work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States