Down Home Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by carla dee
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome!!! My husband has never cared for baked beans ... Until I made this recipe. He was amazed how delicious these beans are. No need to change a thing. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
1/4 cup brown sugar is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Sallemi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a keeper, but I did use only 1 cup brown sugar and added a tsp of Wrights Liquid Smoke and a Tablespoon of molasses. Used a Vadalia onion. I cooked about 1/2 lb of bacon in the oven on parchment paper for about 23 min (don't let them touch)at 400 degrees. Great raves. I cooked the beans in an iron 4qt pot in the oven for about 1 1/4 hrs uncovered at 350. They were not soupy. I used Bush's Original with bacon and maple. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
After reading some of the reviews I did the following: used generic baked beans, used the whole bottle of chili sauce, used 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar. Then I baked it for 2 hours at 350 degrees, decided to lower it to 250 for about an hour and then lowered again to 250 for about the last hour. Took it to a cookout and didn't bring any leftovers home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read Reviews...Drain beans, cut sugar in half, cook onion in bacon grease, add 2 tbls bacon grease to beans. (I also added a small squeeze of mustard & 4 dashes of Worcestershire.) AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is the best. All my BBQ guests asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I nice version of baked beans. I made a half-batch but cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and they were plenty sweet for us. I served this with 'Italian Hot Dogs' a personal recipe from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent! Followed directions exactly the first time, wouldn't change a thing. The second time, after cooking bacon, onions, I put it all in the crock pot for a few hours on low and it was just as delicious! I used canned pork and beans from Sams as they are not flavored like many of the other baked beans that already have sugar, bbq and spices mixed in. The sugar and chili sauce made an excellent flavor combination. I make double recipe and always take to events as my contribution and get rave reviews. Update: This time I sauteed the onions in the bacon grease as a couple people didn't like visible onions. Turned out awesome. A never fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
People said too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States