Down and Dirty Garlic Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I thought this chili was amazing! It's very simplistic and basic which makes it easy to add ingredients to your liking. I added 2 cubes of beef bouillon, a whole onion in place of the flakes, 2 chopped carrots, 1 T of yellow mustard and 1 can each of kidney and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chzheadgrl
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Down & Dirty Garlic Chili Haiku: "Needs more of something. The title is misleading. Maybe more beans too?" I agree w/ another reviewer that, despite the recipe's cute title, it doesn't call for any more garlic than any other chili recipe that I've made. I also didn't find it to be spicy at all, and I even used fire roasted garlic diced tomatoes. The only thing that I changed was swapping onion flakes for diced onion that I sauteed w/ the beef. It's a nice, basic chili, that in my opinion, needs a better ratio of beef to beans, more garlic (to suit its title), and more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I think the recipe name is a bit misleading though; I don't think there is any more garlic in this than in any other chili I've made (maybe even less, in fact). Having said that, this chili has great flavor. I followed the recipe, but also added a can of sliced mushrooms and some water (with a cube of bouillon) as we like our chili with a bit more liquid. Served it topped with shredded cheddar and pickled jalapenos. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This got good reviews at our house and is a good thing to whip up when you're short on prep time. But it's basically just a regular chili -- all the garlic gets overwhelmed by the chili powder. And if you want to control the heat, worry about the red pepper flakes AND the chili powder; two tablespoons gives it quite a kick and was too spicy for some of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very easy and delicious! However the name is very misleading. I upped the garlic to 4 gloves and still couldn't taste it. All in all it was a good recipe that will be added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used left over roast beef rather then ground beef. I used stewed tomatos. I used "Bushes" chili beans. I increased all the spices slightly. Didn't salt and pepper at all. Pretty pleased with the results. I froze it to use for a gathering in the near future, hope everyone else likes it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a good basic Chili recipe to add your own flair too. I read a few reviews that said this was really spicy, but we didn't think it was spicy at all! I ended up adding hot sauce and pickled jalapenos to give it some kick. I'll probably use this again but will definitely doctor it up a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I rate this one 4 because I had to make a few changes, but overall, this was a good and quick chili recipe! I ended up chopping up a small onion and adding for a little more flavor. I also filled the diced tomato can 1/2 way with water and added, otherwise it was WAY too think. I added some pickled jalapeno's for a little more heat, and a tsp of mustard (it gives chili AMAZING flavor). I will definitely use the recipe as a base recipe from now on though, so thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My husband and I love this dish and it is SUPER easy to make. It is in our regular round of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Not bad but missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States